Veggie Burgers!

6 Jun

Heyyy friends! Sundays are supposed to be “lazy”, but I’m trying to make this Sunday a power day- full of blogging, studying, yoga, apartment hunting, annnnnd…. veggie burgers!

This recipe is adapted from the Spicoli Burger recipe in Dreena Burton’s cookbook Eat, Drink & Be Vegan. (I definitely recommend this cookbook for vegetarians AND meat eaters!) I’m no movie buff, but I think the name “Spicoli” came from Fast Times at Ridgemount High? Does anyone know? Anyways, here is a DELICIOUS cow-friendly burger!

Veggie Burgers Kayli-Style

Ingredients:

  • 2 tsp olive oil
  • 3/4-1 cup diced red onion
  • 1 diced bell pepper (today I used orange)
  • 3 cups cooked brown rice
  • 1 cup of any combo of nuts (today I used 1/2 cup hemp seeds and 1/2 cup sunflower seeds)
  • 2 medium cloves of garlic
  • 1 tbsp soy sauce
  • 2 tbsp ketchup (I didn’t have ketchup, so I used 1 tbsp BBQ sauce and 1 tbsp Cholula hot sauce)
  • 1 tsp mustard
  • 1/2 tsp dried basil
  • 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper (or any combo of herbs and spices you like)
  • salt to taste

How To:

  • Add olive oil and onion to frying pan and saute over medium heat for about 3 min.
  • Add diced bell pepper and continue to saute for another 5 min. or until onions are fully softened.

  • In a food processor, add sautéed veggie mixture, 2 cups of cooked rice, nuts, garlic, ketchup (or BBQ/hot sauce), soy sauce, mustard, and spices and puree until relatively smooth (I leave a little texture to mine).

  • In a large bowl, stir together pureed mixture and remaining rice.

  • Form into patties with your hands and place patties on a lightly greased or parchment-lined cookie sheet. Pop the cookie sheet into the freezer for a couple hours to allow patties to firm up.

  • Preheat oven to 425 degrees and bake for about 20 min. or until patties begin to brown. Carefully flip patties and bake for another 20 min. or until brown.

  • Serve with all the fixings- lettuce, heirloom tomato, pickle, hot sauce (of course), hummus, mustard, and ketchup.

  • I like to crumble mine and eat it in red lettuce wraps, but you can also eat them in a tortilla, on a bun, or on top of a salad.

Enjoy your Sunday and your burgers and thanks for reading 🙂

10 Responses to “Veggie Burgers!”

  1. Dad June 6, 2010 at 1:04 pm #

    Spicoli did come from Fast Times At Ridgemont High, Jeff Spicoli played by Sean Penn. It was nice spending the day with you on Saturday. Hope to see you again on Wednesday. Great Blog! Love you.

    • kp June 6, 2010 at 1:09 pm #

      Thanks, Dad! Love you too and see you in a few days 🙂

  2. Cara June 6, 2010 at 9:42 pm #

    I loved these! Is this close to the recipe you used at my house? Your pictures in the blog are a really good touch. Keep it up!

    • kp June 7, 2010 at 6:18 pm #

      I think so, but the ones at your house were a little impromptu due to the onion mishap 🙂 we need to make a farmer’s market/cooking lesson date!

      • Cara June 7, 2010 at 10:18 pm #

        can we PLEASE do it soon? In the meantime I think I will attempt these on my own 😉 And I’m going to make an appt. with a trainer tomorrow because I think it’s free at my gym and I want Jessica Biel’s arms. hehe

  3. Mom June 6, 2010 at 9:48 pm #

    Love these!!! Just wish you were here to make them for me. 🙂
    Keep up the good work. Love you

    • kp June 7, 2010 at 6:19 pm #

      well, you have an open dinner invitation anytime you want! Let me know and I’ll whip ’em up 🙂

  4. Emily June 8, 2010 at 9:47 am #

    Those spicoli burgers look delish! I’m always experimenting with different types of veggie burgers, and I’ll have to give these a try (huge fan of DB and ED&BV). 🙂

  5. Debbie C. June 9, 2010 at 11:50 pm #

    Looks yummy as lettuce wraps even Grandma thinks it looks good!!!
    It was great to see you and James, we all had a super great time, can’t wait to do it again soon! Love from all of us!!!

    • kp June 15, 2010 at 9:18 pm #

      Well, I can assure you they taste just as yummy as they look! We had a great time too 🙂 Glad you got to experience Food Heaven (a.k.a. Whole Foods)!

Leave a Reply

