Busy, Busy, Busy

16 Jun

Hey friends! 

I’ve been a bad, bad blogger. This post is way overdue! I know you aren’t supposed to make excuses, but I’m going to anyway. 🙂 Here they are…

Excuse #1: My life is very busy right now! My day planner has every hour of every day planned out for the next 1. 5 months. I am in the thick of two classes right now, trying to find the perfect apartment (found it!), and my boyfriend is subleasing his apartment so we just moved all of his stuff into my barely 500 sq. foot apartment. We’re making do, but thank goodness it’s only temporary 🙂  Whew, and to top it all off I just started working on a weight-loss research project in the SLU Nutrition Department. I worked on it during the spring semester and absolutely LOVE it (nutrition counseling, working out with participants, nutrition education, data analysis. love, love love!), but adding it to my schedule right now pretty much maxes me out. Here’s my typical day…

6:30 a.m. alarm, breakfast, workout, snack, study, lunch, study, dinner, study, relax for a minute before my 10:30 p.m. bedtime. I know, BORING!

Excuse #2: My poor brain is fried from all the studying, so my creativity is lacking a little. 

I decided to make it up to you by doing another recipe post. Everybody likes a new recipe, right? And if you don’t, then I betcha at least enjoy looking a food pictures 🙂

Homemade Pizza

Crust Ingredients:

  • 2 1/4 cups whole-wheat pastry flour (or regular whole wheat flour, or half whole wheat and half white)
  • 1/4 cup ground flaxseed (if you don’t have this, replace with an extra 1/4 cup flour, but you should get some!)
  • 1 pkg. instant yeast
  • 1 tsp. sugar
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. dried basil
  • 1 cup warm water
  • 1 tbsp. extra-virgin olive oil plus more for oiling pizza pan
  • cornmeal (can be omitted) 

How To:

  • In a large bowl, combine first 6 ingredients.

  • Add water and oil and mix well.
  • When the dough starts to form, remove from bowl and knead on a floured countertop or cutting board. If the dough looks dry, add water a tbsp. at a time until it holds together. Knead for a few minutes. 

  • When the dough springs back when you touch it, shape it into a ball and place it back in the bowl.
  • Cover with plastic wrap or a kitchen towel and let rise for an hour in a warm place.
  • In the meantime, prepare your toppings! You can top a pizza crust with ANYTHING! We used pesto, chopped heirloom tomatoes, broccoli, fresh basil, a banana pepper from the garden, goat cheese, canned fire roasted tomatoes, and chicken on half for jwd. It was “use up all the leftover bits in the fridge” day 🙂 Those are frozen pesto cubes on the right. I make a big batch of pesto and freeze it in an ice cube tray. Then I put the cubes in a freezer bag and plop them into pasta, rice, or on pizza whenever I feel like pesto.
    Scroll down for some ideas.

  • Lightly oil your pizza pan/cookie sheet and sprinkle it with cornmeal. This gives the crust some extra texture and crunch. I pulled up the corner so you can see the cornmeal.
  • After an hour, remove the dough from the bowl and knead a few times. Then roll it out onto the pan (I use a drinking glass because I don’t own a rolling pin)

  • Poke the crust sporadically with a fork a place into a 450 degree oven for about 5 min. or until the crust firms up.
  • Top your pizza

  • Bake for about 12 min. or until the cheese melts and the crust begins to brown.

  • Devour!

Topping Ideas:

Sauces (go light on the higher fat options): pesto, olive oil, red sauce, BBQ sauce.

Veggies(load up on these): tomatoes, olives, peppers, broccoli, onions, wilted spinach, artichokes, mushrooms, fresh herbs.

Proteins (you should have more veggies than protein, so use these as a flavoring): chopped/shredded chicken, beans, pepperoni, canadian bacon.

Cheeses: cheese-less, goat cheese, fresh mozzarella, parmesan, asiago, cheddar.

Pizza is perfect for a crowd, but it’s also perfect for one or two. Divide the dough four equal blobs and roll out four personal-size pizzas. Top one or two and freeze the other crusts for another day.

Well I hope you’ll forgive me for deserting you for so long. I have some exciting posts in the works! See you all soon!

Thanks for reading 🙂

3 Responses to “Busy, Busy, Busy”

  1. Emily June 19, 2010 at 2:30 pm #

    Homemade pizza is one of my favorite meals. My sister and I just made some last night! Kale is probably my fave unusual topping of choice.

    Are you working with Ted @ SLU?

    Hope you’re having a great weekend!

    • kp June 19, 2010 at 5:32 pm #

      I’ve never put kale on a pizza, I’ll definitely have to try that! Yes, I am working with Ted. I did an independent study with him last semester and worked on the CREG study. I love it! Did you have him as an instructor?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Meal 3: Lunch « Running on Sunshine - July 9, 2010

    […] homemade pizza with a side of hummus for dipping, grapes, and carrot sticks. The “lunch tray” is my […]

Leave a Reply

