Meal 1: Breakfast

2 Jul

Good morning!! I’m so glad I get to kick off this series of posts with my favorite meal of the day! I am a huge advocate of eating breakfast. It really sets the tone for my day. It can make or break your nutrition mindset for the day and it can also make or break your energy levels. Think about it- your body has been fasting for about 6-8 hours and doing a lot of maintenance work. It needs nourishment!

Before any food touches my lips, I always start my day with a tall, cold glass of water.


On most nights I black out from 10 p.m. to 6 a.m. without waking up, so by the time the sun comes up I feel really dehydrated. But I also start my day with a glass of water because it gets the insides of the body movin’.

The timing of my breakfast is dependent upon my workouts. If I am only doing a short cardio session then I workout before I eat breakfast (unless I wake up hungry). If I plan on lifting or doing a long run, then I eat as soon as I wake up to properly fuel my workout. A cup of java or a cup of yerba mate tea accompanies my breakfast…

I love french press coffee so I use this nifty little french press travel mug to brew it. I drink Kaldi’s coffee from a local coffee shop. So good! I should mention that I am not one of those people who can’t function before my morning coffee. I am usually pretty energetic in the morning. I only drink 1 cup and I do so because I enjoy the taste and experience.

My “hungry time” is definitely in the morning, so I need something filling and something that will fuel my workouts. I’ve experimented with all kinds of breakfast foods and I’ve found that oatmeal works best for me. It’s healthy and filling, and it’s the perfect blank canvas for a perfect mix of complex carbs, healthy fats, and protein.

What do I put in my oatmeal? Well, I start with 2 tbsp. ground flaxseed.

Then I add I cup of cooked grains: steel-cut oats, rolled oats, oat bran, or other grains like quinoa.

Next I add my toppings: fruits, nuts, a drizzle of nut butter, cinnamon, a splash of vanilla, almond milk, granola- whatever I’m in the mood for. The possibilities are endless!

Old-fashioned rolled oats with mashed banana, walnuts, and cinnamon

Steel-cut oats mixed with leftover red quinoa, berries, stevia, cinnamon, and nuts

Steel-cut oats with blueberries, cinnamon, nuts, and almond milk, and protein powder.

Kitty is making his blog debut!

Today’s oats: rolled oats, berries, a peach, stevia, and a drizzle of almond butter

I cook my oatmeal on the stove. This allows me to do other things while the oats are cooking without worrying about it bubbling over (in the microwave!). I love multi-tasking! Want some more oatmeal ideas? Check out Kath’s awesome Tribute to Oatmeal

When I’m not in the mood for oats (this is rare) or I want something pair with my oats, I’ll have a few of these guys…

Two egg whites swimming in Cholula hot sauce

Or I make these delicious protein pancakes.

If I wake up hungry and want something quick before I go on a short run, I’ll make something like this…

I little slice of Great Harvest Dakota bread with crunchy peanut butter and strawberry slices.

Now go feed your body with a healthy breakfast and I’ll be back in the next few days to talk about post-workout snacks. Have a wonderful Friday and thanks for reading 🙂

4 Responses to “Meal 1: Breakfast”

  1. Emily July 3, 2010 at 10:42 am #

    I drink coffee in the am for the same reason. But I do think that it helps me start my day. 🙂 I eat oatmeal almost every morning because I love it that much, and it honestly keeps me fueled for a long time (very helpful for those marathon internship days when I couldn’t eat for 4-6 hrs).

    Nut butter is one of those things that I cannot eat before running. That and bananas, which I know is really different than most people. I like to eat at least 2 hrs before working out.

    • kayli (Running On Sunshine) July 6, 2010 at 11:06 pm #

      Yes, I must admit that I don’t quite feel the same without my coffee 🙂 I am going to start the SLU early application process soon, so I’ve been reading some of your old posts from when you were in the thick of the internship. Seems intense but exciting! Sounds like I’ll definitely need a big oatmeal breakfast!

      I know what you mean about the pre-workout nut butter. I can only have a teeny bit or it feels heavy in my stomach.

  2. Dolores July 5, 2010 at 1:14 pm #

    Coffee is a wonderful thing! My 6 yr old LOVES oatmeal and now we eat it nearly every wkday. I agree about the microwave, and my steel cut even says they don’t encourage nuking. I also like putting pumpkin in the oatmeal, with std. raisins, cinnamon, and um, 2 tsp. brown sugar. I’ll have to try the stevia.
    Before your lunch entry: Are there low sodium tortillas? I was so proud of my mango quesadillas on a nonstick griddle with 1 oz. jack cheese, until I added the sodium from whole wheat tortillas (1000 mg) the cheese, and the salsa to get nearly 1500 mg! I try to make most thgs fm scratch, but tortillas are too labor intensive.

    • kayli (Running On Sunshine) July 6, 2010 at 11:02 pm #

      I LOVE pumpkin oats too! Especially on a cool fall morning 🙂 I wouldn’t worry too much about the 2 tsp. of brown sugar. Moderation, right? 😀 But definitely give the stevia a try!

      I use Food For Life Ezekiel Tortillas. The small ones only have 80 calories and 80 mg of sodium and the large burrito size have 150 calories and 140 mg of sodium. This brand also makes great breads, buns, and english muffins. Look for them in the refrigerator or freezer section at the grocery store.

Leave a Reply

