Meal 2: Post-Workout Snack

7 Jul

Hello, blog world! I hope you all enjoyed your holiday weekend! Mine was pretty low-key, but I got to see a lot of people that I don’t get to see enough of (Hi, Sarah!). That made me a very happy girl. I am also a very happy girl because Biochemistry is FINALLY behind me and I’m making progress in Advanced Nutrition. I started another new class today. It’s 4 days a week pretty much all day for 4 weeks. Yikes! Fortunately, I think it will be bearable, but it is going to make my schedule a little wonky for a few weeks. On top of all of my school stuff, we are moving in 2 weeks! Ahh! I’m looking around my apartment as I write this wondering how the heck I’m going to study, blog, and pack and still have time for exercising and sleeping. July 31st might just be the happiest day of my life thus far, no joke. (more on that later). So let the craziness ensue and the countdown begin!

Enough about that, let’s talk about post-workout meals. My post-workout meal is very important to me, second only to breakfast. The quality and timing of this meal determines how much lean muscle your body builds and how you feel during your next workout.  The focus of your post-workout meal should be on growth and repair. The meal should contain protein, complex carbs, and a little bit of healthy fat. Not only is what you eat after a workout important, but when you eat it also matters. Think of the 30 minutes after your workout as your window of opportunity to refuel and repair muscles. Don’t let all of your hard work go to waste, fuel your body after workouts to build lean muscle and recover!

My Weekly Workout Schedule

Here’s a little background info about my typical workout schedule. I try to lift weights 3 times a week, run about 3 times a week, and do a few cross-training workouts a few times a week such as plyotmetrics, elliptical, stair climber, riding my bike, walking, and yoga. Do what you can. Sometimes life gets busy and I can only  manage 20 minutes or exercise, but 20 minutes is better than nothing! Find your favorite way to move your body and do it whenever you can!

Post-Workout Snack

As with breakfast, I’m pretty boring when it comes to post workout meals. I almost always have a smoothie.

Kayli’s Post-Workout Smoothie

(see below for ingredient details)

1 scoop of good-quality protein powder

2 heaping scoops of greek yogurt

handful of spinach

1/2 a banana

3/4 cup of frozen berries

squeeze of a 1/4 a lemon

a few splashes of H2O

Before:

After:

This one has EXTRA spinach:


Ingredient Details

Protein Powders: Choosing a protein powder is a very personal thing. There are plant-based protein powders and animal-based protein powders. Plant based powders include soy, rice, hemp, and pea. Animal powders include whey and casein. I do not use proteins from animal sources because I like to keep my animal-product consumption to a minimum. I am also not a fan of isolates because they are highly processed. I prefer whole, plant protein powders such as Navita’s Hemp Powder and Sunwarrior rice protein powder.

Yogurt: Yogurt is a wonderful post-workout snack. It contains a healthy dose of protein and carbohydrates. I use fat-free plain greek yogurt. It has a rich, creamy texture, almost twice as much protein as regular yogurt, and less lactose (a plus for those of us who don’t eat very much dairy). Oikos, FAGE, and Voskos are popular greek yogurt brands I use!

Bananas: Bananas are great post-workout snack because your body quickly turns them into fuel. Bananas are also high in potassium, an electrolyte lost during exercise.

Sometimes I like to replace my smoothie with Protein Ice Cream! (this was very necessary today)

A few changes: I omitted the stevia, omitted the guar gum and replaced with more xanthan gum, added about 1/3 of a frozen banana.

What’s that chocolaty goodness on top, you ask? It is one of my all-time favorite “sometimes” foods: Dark Chocolate Dreams. Try it, you’ll fall in love. But be careful, it’s dangerous. I must strongly enforce the Nut Butter Rule with this stuff! Be sure to check out all of the insane Peanut Butter and Co. flavors! Love this company!

Other Post-Workout Snack Ideas:

– egg whites on one slice of whole grain bread

-lean chicken or turkey on whole grain bread

-scrambled eggs with peppers and onions in a whole grain tortilla

-tortilla roll-up: tortilla with nut butter, sliced banana, a drizzle of honey, and a dash of cinnamon

-plain fat-free greek yogurt with mixed berries

*pictures of some of the mentioned snack ideas will be featured in my general snack post!*

Water, Water, Water!

I already mentioned the wonderful benefits of water in this post, so drink up before, during, and after your workouts!

I carry one of these babies with me at all times.

See you soon for lunch! Thanks for reading 🙂

3 Responses to “Meal 2: Post-Workout Snack”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I’m Baaaack….. And It’s Snack Time « Running on Sunshine - August 1, 2010

    […] posting! I have a lot of ideas in the works So that glorious day, July 30th, that I mentioned in this post has come and gone and it’s time to tell you why it might just be the best day of my life thus […]

  2. First Post of 2011: Crafting and Detoxing « Running on Sunshine - January 5, 2011

    […] will make you feel clean and energized in no time. My favorite way to boost my fruits and veggies? Spinach fruit smoothies and green juice (green juice post coming […]

  3. Workout of the Week: Fueling Your Workout « Running on Sunshine - March 20, 2011

    […] Examples of recovery meals: turkey/veggies/hummus in a whole wheat wrap, veggie stir-fry with tofu and brown rice, peanut butter and banana in a whole wheat wrap, low-fat chocolate milk and a banana, or a fruit and yogurt smoothie. […]

Leave a Reply

