Meal 3: Lunch

9 Jul

TGIF!!! Does anyone else remember watching the TGIF line-up on TV? Family Matters, Step By Step, Boy Meets World?  I don’t know about you, but I am SO happy it’s Friday 😀 Two Advanced Nutrition tests down, one to go. I was up super early this morning to study, so I’m ready for a very relaxing Friday night. Now let’s get to the next meal on the list.

I gotta be honest with you, I’m not a big fan of lunch. My morning java and workouts usually rev me up. And by lunchtime, I’m usually attacking something with full force- whether it’s text books, errands, or my messy apartment. You all should take pity on jwd, I am a crazy woman from 7 a.m. to noon. That is, until lunchtime. It falls right in the middle of the “productive” period of the day. Lunch is also a time when people are tempted to eat out. I don’t know about you, but I’m not a big fan of paying 10 bucks for a salad or sandwich everyday. That’s why I rely on something quick, cheap, and easy.

My Lunch Strategy: Leftovers

The fact that lunch sometimes interrupts our productivity is not an excuse to skip it. Your blood glucose and energy levels will drop in mid-afternoon and you’ll probably find yourself reaching for the candy bowl. Stop! Put down the mini Snickers! It’s so easy to make a little extra for dinner and then revamp it for lunch the next day. I always make extra grains (rice, quinoa, pasta), extra beans and lentils, extra veggie burgers, extra grilled chicken, and extra roasted veggies to have on-hand for quick lunches. The combos are endless! Just pick a grain, a protein, and a veggie and combine for a balanced meal. Pasta salad with garbanzo beans and veggies, grilled chicken salad, veggie burger on whole grain bread with a veggie side. Since I started my new  class, I’ve been packing my lunch and this leftovers-for-lunch technique works great. I divide it into tupperwares at night and shove it in my lunch box in the morning and bolt pedal out the door (I’ve been biking to class, 10 miles round trip). It’s quick, healthy, and cheap!

Leftover homemade black bean burger (recipe coming soon) topped with hummus, goat cheese, Cholula, and kale on 1/2 of a Food For Life Ezekiel bun. Paired with leftover Japanese sweet potato fries and a few grapes.

Leftover chopped fresh veggies topped with leftover garbanzo beans, goat cheese, homemade balsamic dressing, and homemade croutons. Paired with sliced kiwi.

***Tip: Have stale bread? Don’t throw it away! Cut it into squares, toss in a little olive oil and dried spices of your choice (I like a little salt, pepper, and basil), spread on a cookie sheet and bake in a 400 degree oven for about 5ish minutes, flipping halfway through. Voila, Homemade croutons!

Leftover homemade pizza with a side of hummus for dipping, grapes, and carrot sticks. The “lunch tray” is my Human Metabolism textbook. Unfortunately, it accompanied my lunch on this particular day 😦

***Tip: I never buy baby carrots. They are actually just regular carrots shaped into mini carrots. It’s much cheaper to buy regular carrots and slice them yourself. Bonus: they stay fresh in the fridge longer and taste sweeter.

Leftover roasted veggies mixed with chopped fresh spinach, goat cheese, and homemade balsamic dressing. Paired with celery + peanut butter and grapes.

This one is not composed of leftovers, but it is still quick, cheap, and easy! Two egg whites on 1/2 of a toasted Food For Life Ezekiel bun topped with sliced heirloom tomato, sliced cucumbers, and goat cheese. Paired with half an apple shmeared with peanut butter anddd… another favorite “sometimes” food: a few Billy Goat Chips. These chips are made locally in St. Louis and they are to die for! Thick, crunchy, and perfectly seasoned. They cost a little more than a bag of Ruffles, but that’s what I love about them. It forces me to really savor them. They are a splurge, a true treat. I get MUCH more enjoyment and satisfaction out of a small handful of these chips than I could get out of an entire bag of the “typical” potato chip. They have a very simple ingredient list and they are local!!

Speaking of local… if it’s okay with all of you, I’m going to briefly depart from the meal posts and give you a fun little post tomorrow!   Hint: tonight feels like Christmas Eve to me 🙂

Anyone have any great leftover lunches or “penny-pinching” meal tips??

Well, I’m off to enjoy a lovely, relaxing Friday night which may or may not include a trip to Chill 😉

Enjoy your Friday night and I’ll see you all tomorrow! Thanks for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

