Kitty’s Favorite Dinner

3 Aug

JWD is not the only man in my life. I have a furry little love too. His name is Kitty and he came in to my life rather unexpectedly. My sister found him on the side of the highway, a teeny little baby kitten. He was very skinny and had road tar stuck on his little face. Poor guy. My sister brought the half-dead little kitten to my apartment as a “birthday gift”. He didn’t move from the corner of my living room for a few days and I just knew sooner or later I would wake up and find him dead. I fed him kitten formula and “licked” him with the corner of a wet wash cloth trying to simulate his mother as best I could. To my surprise, he slowly came to life. But I wouldn’t say he came out of the trauma unscathed. He’s pretty odd.

Despite my best best efforts, he is very antisocial. If you come to my house, chances are you won’t even see him. He only loves me and his daddy.

Oh, and his teddy bear.

Besides me, JWD, and his bear, his other loves include…

sleeping in my dirty laundry (told ya he was odd)

ransacking all of my drawers and shelves when he doesn’t get his way (he’s a spoiled only child)

his fort. He thinks the shower is his territory. He waits impatiently with his head poked in the curtain if anyone has the nerve to use it for bathing. And don’t even think about locking him out of the bathroom. (or he’ll ransack my clothes!)

straws. He has a weird fetish for them. Whether it’s on the counter, in the trash, or still stuck in a cup, he will find it… and put it in his water dish. (that’s a green Starbucks straw he’s using)

He also enjoys surfing the net from time to time. Remind me to adjust the parental controls on my computer after this post…

Although it seems you could fill a whole day with blogging on the net and hunting for straws, Kitty always takes time to relax and catch some z’s.

Kitty’s latest love is his salmon treats. I keep them in the fridge, and every time I open the door he comes running. Leave it to a spoiled only child to think that the refrigerator is for his own personal use.

The love of salmon is something Kitty and I agree on.

Easy Parchment Salmon & Soba Noodles with Peanut Sauce

Ingredients for the salmon

  • parchment paper (found in rolls with the foil and cling-wrap)
  • salmon filets (or other fish, chicken, or just veggies)
  • sliced veggies of your choice (I used yellow squash, zucchini, and carrots)
  • salt, pepper, garlic, or any spices of your choosing
  • sliced citrus (I used lemon slices)

Ingredients for the soba noodles and peanut sauce

  • soba noodles (Can’t find em? Whole wheat spaghetti will do the trick!)
  • 2 T tahini
  • 2 T peanut butter (you can substitute any nut butter you like for these first two ingredients)
  • 2 T soy sauce
  • 2 T rice vinegar
  • 1 T agave nectar
  • 1 t toasted sesame oil
  • sesame seeds

How To:

  • Prep your fish and veggies

  • Cut a large square of parchment paper for each serving you are preparing
  • Create a bed of veggies

  • season your fish with a drizzle of oil (i used sesame) and a little salt, pepper, and garlic (or any spices you choose)
  • Lay fish on veggie bed and top with citrus slices

  • Fold one side of the parchment paper over the fish and fold and crease all of the edges tightly to seal packet on all sides

  • Place in a 400 degree oven for about 20 minutes (know your oven)

Check out this “how to” video for more detailed instructions and more ideas for your parchment paper fish.

  • While the fish is cooking, boil your noodles.

  • In a bowl whisk together the nut butter, soy sauce, rice vinegar, agave, and sesame oil. It will probably be a little clumpy from the nut butter. Microwave for 20-30 seconds or until the sauce stirs smoothly.

  • Coat the drained noodles with the sauce and sprinkle with sesame seeds.
  • When the fish is done, carefully cut open the parchment paper (the steam will be hot, hot, hot!) and serve alongside noodles.

Good night, blog friends! Thanks for reading ๐Ÿ™‚

10 Responses to “Kitty’s Favorite Dinner”

  1. Cara August 3, 2010 at 11:25 pm #

    Come on! I knew he was fine and it was the best birthday present ever! Look at you two now… blogging together and what not. I need to try salmon again my initial assessment was that it is no good. The noodles look delish though! Night sissy

    • kayli (Running On Sunshine) August 6, 2010 at 10:19 am #

      You’re right, I am madly in love with him. You did good, sis ๐Ÿ˜‰ Come on over and I’ll make you a salmon dinner (with a back-up veggie burger) for you to try!

  2. Mom August 4, 2010 at 10:57 am #

    Awwww. Every kitty should have it so rough. Glad he is adjusting to the new apartment. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Not a salmon fan,(although you make it look soooo good) but definitely a Kitty fan!!
    Love ya, MOM

    • kayli (Running On Sunshine) August 6, 2010 at 10:21 am #

      You can just as easily make the recipe with another type of meat or just veggies ๐Ÿ™‚ Remember our campfire foil burgers??

      • Cara August 9, 2010 at 10:08 pm #

        I was just telling Nate about our foil burgers! I was making a foil pocket for grilling sweet potatoes and we started talking about other foil pocket meals. And I would like my salmon dinner this week ๐Ÿ˜€

  3. Emily August 5, 2010 at 4:13 pm #

    Kitty is adorable, even with his odd habits. ๐Ÿ™‚ So funny that he loves straws!

    Your recipe for salmon + soba noodles sounds delish. I’m bookmarking it!

  4. Katie August 15, 2010 at 9:11 am #

    Oh my goodness your cat is so precious!! I love cats, probably even more than dogs. I just found your blog by the way! Love it!

    • kayli (Running On Sunshine) August 17, 2010 at 8:08 am #

      I’m soo glad you found me! I hope you’ll stick around ๐Ÿ™‚ And it’s great to meet a fellow cat lover. Cats are so independent and smart. I’m going to head on over to Sweets and Veggies and check it out now!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Something Old, Something New « Running on Sunshine - February 15, 2011

    […] Remember Kitty from this post? […]

Leave a Reply

