Hunger Challenge Wrap-Up

16 Sep

Hey Everyone! I finished my Hunger Challenge on Sunday. It was a tough week!! I feel incredibly lucky that it was only an “experiment” for me because food stamps are a dismal reality for so many people. It’s not an experiment, it’s their life. It took an incredible amount of planning, budgeting, creativity, and willpower to stay on track. Unfortunately, I don’t have any amazing dirt cheap recipes to share with you from the week. I did use a lentil soup recipe that I make quite often, but I can’t even think about lentils right now so we’ll save that one for a cold winter day. Check out my final posts on the Food Outreach blog here and here.

Even though it’s still quite toasty outside, fall is so close I can taste it! I am craving all things fall right now– apples (especially caramel apples!), cold weather runs, soup, hot cocoa, jeans and sweaters, pumpkins, and bonfires. Anyone else craving fall? As the weather gets colder, my yearning for comfort food sets in. Comfort foods are often heavy and caloric, so I’m working on a post about how to makeover some favorite comfort foods. Any favorite comfort foods you’d like me to include? Another future topic will be weight management. The holiday season is quickly approaching and embarking on a weight loss plan this time of year usually means setting yourself up for failure. I like to take the “maintain, not gain” approach. We’ll talk about some strategies for that. Also, I’m on a yoga kick right now. I think yoga is beneficial to all ages, sizes, genders, and fitness levels, but it does have an intimidation factor associated with it. I’ll give you a little intro to yoga and ideas on how to incorporate it into your life.

See you all very soon with some comfort food recipes!

Thanks for reading 🙂

Something to check out: my friend Laura started an awesome blog about fun things to do in St. Louis including lots of restaurant reviews. She’s a Registered Dietitian with a “work hard, play hard” mentality. Check it out!

One Response to “Hunger Challenge Wrap-Up”

  1. emily September 16, 2010 at 3:29 pm #

    I completely agree that clean eating doesn’t have to be expensive, but it takes a lot of extra planning, as I’m sure you experienced during your Hunger Challenge adventure. I am so thankful that I don’t have to live on food stamps, either.

    The weather is definitely fall like here, and I’m so excited!

    Laura was one of our GAs during my internship! 🙂

Leave a Reply

