(pumpk)in love

26 Oct

When I was growing up, pumpkins were strictly reserved for Halloween jack-o-lanterns and Thanksgiving pumpkin pies (which usually came from a can). The thought of eating pumpkin guts probably would have made me ill. In fact, I think I recall a few pumpkin carving occasions that ended with a little more than just pumpkin guts all over the floor (I was a feeble child). But now that my food habits have become a little more adventurous and my gag reflex a little less sensitive,

I. Can’t. Get. Enough. Pumpkin.

At the farmer’s market, my breath catches in my throat when I lay eyes on the beautiful selection of sugar pumpkins. I load my reusable bags with as many as I can carry. I clean out every last can of pumpkin from the shelves of Trader Joe’s.

I am truly obsessed.

So obsessed that I don’t need to budget for sunless tanner anymore. Neither does JWD, poor guy…

source

Why You Should Be Obsessed With Pumpkin Too

  • Pumpkin is a winter squash. It can be cooked and eaten just the same as other members of the squash family.
  • Pumpkin is full of antioxidants. It’s a great source of vitamin A and vitamin C. Antioxidants are known for their anti-aging benefits, immunity boost, and for possible prevention against many diseases including cancers.
  • Pumpkin also contains fiber and potassium.
  • The culinary possibilities for pumpkin are endless. Roast it, mash it,or  puree it in soups and smoothies. Add it to baked goods as a fat substitute (1/2 fat, 1/2 pumpkin) or as an egg substitute.

source: eatright.org (ADA website)


Here’s How I’ve Been Using Pumpkin

In my oats…

Pumpkin Banana Oats

  • Prepare 1 serving of oats (I used steel cut) and stir in 1 heaping spoonful of pumpkin puree, a dash of milk for creaminess (I used soy), 1/2 a diced banana, 2 tablespoons walnuts, a dash of cinnamon & pumpkin pie spice, and stevia to taste.

As a snack…

Sweet and Salty Pumpkin Seeds

Sprinkle on salads, soups, or eat them alone as a snack.


When all the bowls are in the dishwasher…

Vegetarian Chili in Pumpkin Bowls (enough for 3-4 pumpkin bowls)

  • In a saucepan coated with a drizzle of olive oil or non-stick cooking spray, sauté 1 chopped bell pepper, 1/3 of a white onion, and 1 crumbled brick of tempeh (for all you meat-eaters, this is the part where you can add lean ground turkey, but give tempeh a chance!) until onions are translucent.
  • In a crock-pot, combine sautéed mixture, 1 can black beans (rinsed and drained), 1/2 cup chickpeas, 1/2 cup corn kernels (canned, fresh, or frozen), 4 cups of vegetable broth, 1 can fire roasted tomatoes, 1 T chili powder, 1 tsp cumin, 1 tsp cayenne pepper, 2 minced garlic cloves, and salt & pepper to taste.
  • While the chili is slow-cookin’, prep your pumpkins. Cut off the lid of the pumpkin about 3/4 of the way up.

my little helper (more on her next time)

Scoop out the guts and seeds (save the seeds for roasting!) and season inside of pumpkin with a little olive oil, salt & pepper.

  • Now you are ready to roast. Place pumpkins on a cookie sheet and into a 400 degree oven for about 30 min.
  • Fill the pumpkin with chili and enjoy scooping up big hunks of roasted pumpkin flesh with every bite of chili.


And last, but certainly not least, as dessert…

Oh my…

Mama Pea’s Pumpkin Spice Bars


Halloween is a few days away, so save your jack-o-lantern seeds and roast them! Or serve a post trick-or-treating crew a healthy (pumpkin) bowl of vegetarian chili. The pumpkin possibilities are endless– and what’s more comforting than seasonal food? It will warm your soul.

Thanks for reading 🙂

6 Responses to “(pumpk)in love”

  1. Cara October 26, 2010 at 5:39 pm #

    I want to eat everything in this post! And meet the new little missy! Keep up the hard work sissy

  2. Emily October 26, 2010 at 6:24 pm #

    I’m totally with you…love love love pumpkin! I love the idea of serving chili in pumpkin bowls, too. Super creative! 🙂

  3. Katie October 26, 2010 at 7:15 pm #

    You are so cute. Can you please come make ALL of these for me?? Thanks! Everything looks amazing.

  4. Mom October 28, 2010 at 11:28 pm #

    You are so creative! Everything looks so yummy. Keep up the great work. Love ya!

  5. Laura November 7, 2010 at 6:40 pm #

    Seriously, great post. Do you do your own photos? Gotta know what kind of camera you are using because the pics are fab!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tomato, Tomäto « Running on Sunshine - January 10, 2011

    […] market in November. It has migrated around the apartment first as supplies for another batch of vegetarian chili that-never-was, then as a centerpiece for a Thanksgiving I hosted, and last as an overlooked […]

Leave a Reply

