My Top 20 Fitness/Foodie Holiday Gift Ideas

15 Dec

Christmas is right around the corner, and I thought you might be interested to see what fitness/foodie gifts I have my eye on this year. Some of these items I already own and love and some of them are on my wish list!

(links to products provided by clicking on underlined wording)


1. For the fitness newbies: a yoga kit ($25)

This is the perfect gift for someone new to fitness. Yoga is a low impact exercise that anyone can do. This particular kit comes with a mat, strap, block, and instructional DVD– everything you need!


2.  For the stylish: BUILT wine bottle carrier ($15-$20)

BUILT has a lot of amazing products including lunch boxes, computer cases, and camera bags, but their wine bottle carriers are my favorite. They come in a variety of patterns. This is also a perfect hostess gift- bring a bottle of wine in the carrier!

3. For the fitness adventurist: kettlebell set ($100 for full set)

Kettlebells are the latest in fitness. Give this gift to the fitness freak in your life. Buy a whole set or individually.


4. For the messy cook: cookbook stand ($27)

When I cook, it sometimes looks like a tornado went through my kitchen. This stand protects my cookbooks from the madness. I love this particular stand because it has a measurement conversion chart right on the glass.


5. For your workout buddy: class cards

Nothing is better than someone else footing the bill for your favorite workout class. Many gyms and studios offer discounted packages this time of year too.


6. For the busy bee: a french press travel mug ($15)

This gift is perfect for those people with overbooked schedules. Just add coffee grounds and hot water and you can brew your coffee on the go.

7. For the music junkie: iPod shuffle ($49)

JWD will attest that I am an Apple fanatic. These little iPod shuffles are ideal for exercise. Load some of your favorite workout tunes, keep it in your gym bag, and just clip it on to your shirt- no armband required. Runners will love this.

8. For the kitchen guru: spiralizer ($30)

For the friend that seems to have every kitchen gadget out there. I can bet they probably don’t have one of these. I make beautiful salads of spiralized cucumber and carrots or sweet potato curly fries.


9. For anyone that you care about: Michael Pollan’s Food Rules ($8.80)

This gift is a must-read for anyone who eats food. It’s a witty list of eating rules to live by.


10. For the cook: my favorite cookbooks

Raw Food Real World By: Sarma Melngailis and Matthew Kenney

eat, drink, & be vegan By: Dreena Burton

How to Cook Everything By: Mark Bittman


11. For the fit jet-setter: exercise bands ($27)

I think exercise bands are highly underrated. They deliver a great workout and are especially great for travel workouts. They are light-weight, don’t take up much room in your suitcase, and can be used anywhere.


12. For the economical: LunchSkins ($7.85-$10.95)

We all know that bringing your own lunch is a great way to save money. The penny-pinching lunch-packers in your life will appreciate these great reusable lunch bags. They come in various sizes for sandwiches and snacks, they’re dishwasher safe, and they’re much easier on the Earth than plastic lunch baggies.


13. For the vegetarian: tofu press ($39.95)

This little gadget is a must when preparing tofu. It presses out all the excess liquid and the result is crisp, delicious squares. No one likes mushy tofu.


14. For the young at heart: weighted hula hoop ($35)

Hula hooping is the perfect workout for anti-exercisers. You don’t even realize you’re getting a workout. JWD gave me a hula hoop for my birthday and I do it while I watch TV. So much fun 🙂


15. For the dieter: oil mister ($12.95)

Olive and canola oil are healthy sources of fat, but a heavy hand with the oil bottle can lead to calorie overload. These colorful little oil misters are the perfect way to coat your pans without getting carried away. They are a great alternative to canned chemical-filled cooking spray.


16. For the whole family: popcorn air-popper ($15)

This gift is a little retro, but so fabulous. Air popping is a healthy alternative to popping in oil. Pair it with a couple of DVDs and you have the perfect gift for the whole family.


17. For EVERYONE: a reusable water bottle ($10-$25)

Bottled water is evil. It’s expensive and terrible for the Earth. Everyone needs a reusable, BPA free water bottle to tote around. The gift of hydration 🙂

Here are a few of my favorites…

Life is Good Sigg CamelBak


18. For the farmers market go-er: reusable totes

Reusable totes are great for groceries, gym bags, beach bags, and work totes. They also make great gift bags. Some of my favorites…

FEED($30 for a great cause!), SmudgeInk ($9.95)

19) For the stockings: bars

Bars make perfect stocking stuffers. My top picks are Larabars and the holiday Clif bar flavors.


20. For the techie: a Flip ($199)

This awesome little gadget is on my wish list. Hiking, biking, snowboarding- it’s the perfect portable way to catch all of your adventures on video. The flip is on my wish list because I want to start uploading workout and cooking videos on the blog!


What fitness/foodie gifts are you asking for or giving this year?

5 Responses to “My Top 20 Fitness/Foodie Holiday Gift Ideas”

  1. Nikki M December 15, 2010 at 10:43 pm #

    Love these ideas! The weighted hula hoop is fantastic! I love it. I really enjoy reading your blog 🙂

  2. emily December 18, 2010 at 9:21 am #

    Great list! Especially love the cookbook cover (I am HORRIBLY messy)and the creative lunch skins! I definitely want some of those!

    I LOVE my spiralizer. It makes eating vegetables infinitely more fun.

    This year, the biggest item on my list is actually a camera! I have a really old one that need to be replaced. In terms of fitness, I asked for some running gear.

    Happy Holidays!

  3. January 20, 2011 at 2:12 pm #

    I just borrowed eat drink and be vegan from the library and agree it’s a great book!

    • kayli (Running On Sunshine) January 20, 2011 at 2:45 pm #

      yes, it never fails me 🙂 What a great idea to check it out from the library. I need to start doing that!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Holiday Gift Guide 2012 « Running on Sunshine - November 26, 2012

    […] In light of the recent kick-off of the holiday shopping season, I put together the 2012 Running on Sunshine Holiday Gift Guide. Things I already own and love and things that made my wish list this year. For more ideas, check out the 2010 Gift Guide here. […]

Leave a Reply

