Workout of the Week: Half-Marathon Training

23 Jan

Running and I are pretty good friends.

We used to be best friends.

When our relationship was in its “honeymoon phase”, we spent a lot of time together. Running helped me survive a very transitional, rocky part of my life. Running was my therapy.

We had a great time together.

You see, I didn’t meet running until I was in college. First it was just therapeutic runs in the park. Then a half-marathon. Then a few more. Then a moment of almost running cross-country. Then a handful of other races. And then a marathon.

It was somewhere between the “handful of other races” and the “marathon” that things got a little turbulent. First a stress fracture. Then a run-in with infrapatellar tendonitis. Then a strained quad– between mile 6 and 10 of a marathon. *Ouch*

After that I decided to back off a little bit. Give myself some space. Get reacquainted some of my other dear friends, yoga and strength training.

But I never lost that itch to run.

So here I am finishing up week 1 of half-marathon training. I thought about running a marathon instead, but the truth is I’m having way too much fun experimenting with other types of workouts. So a half-marathon PR (personal record) goal is on my agenda this year. For this week’s Workout of the Week I would like to share my training plan.

This plan is adapted from a plan on Hal Higdon’s website. His plans are incredible. No matter the distance, skill level, or goal, he has a plan for you. He even has training plans for those that want to walk a race. Fabulous.

Because I am so injury-prone, I need a plan that allows me flexibility , builds milage slowly, and incorporates plenty of cross-training (for both my health and my sanity). I also want a plan that includes speedwork since I’m shooting for a faster time. This plan fits the bill. It is a slight variation of Hal’s (yes, we are on a first name basis) intermediate half-marathon plan.

Over the next few weeks I’ll be featuring the different workouts involved in race training plans as well as how I plan to (fingers crossed) get through this race injury free.

Is anyone else currently training for a race or have a 2011 race goal?

The snow is pouring out of the sky today in St. Louis. Looks like my first long run will be spent on the dreadmill treadmill. blah. And then veggie chili and football are in the plans– because we’re all-American like that. Who am I kidding, you’ll most likely find me in my lab (a.k.a. kitchen) whipping up some experiments. Too much of a busy-body to sit on the couch. Stay tuned 🙂

Thanks for reading 🙂

2 Responses to “Workout of the Week: Half-Marathon Training”

  1. emily January 25, 2011 at 5:42 pm #

    Sounds like a great training plan! I haven’t signed up for another race yet…I’ve run 3 halfs and never a full; that kind of scares me! 🙂 I am definitely a fall/winter runner, though. Running in hot weather and I do not mix!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Workout of the Week: Fueling Your Workout « Running on Sunshine - March 20, 2011

    […] just finished up week 9 of half-marathon training. With race training amping up, I’m a bit too sore to maintain my regular lifting routine. […]

Leave a Reply

