Time To Unwind

13 Mar

I am a little over 48 hours in to my spring break, and I am already loving every minute of it! Definitely running on sunshine this weekend! The past few weeks have been quite hectic (hence the negligence of my beloved blog). It was such a relief to wake up with a clear mind and the day at my fingertips to do with what I please!

True to form, I’ve already made a list of goals for my week off (and have already accomplished many of them). You didn’t think I was just going to sit around and relax, did you?! As a matter of fact, being busy and productive is relaxing to me. Sitting on the couch watching TV? Not so much. So, here’s a glance at my “To Do” list for the week:

  • CLEAN! the cocoon (that’s what I call our little apartment). This one has been checked off already. Saturday was Kayli + Mrs. Meyer’s vs. the dust bunnies. The dust bunnies lost.

  • WRITE! This includes some much needed therapeutic blogging and a few side projects I’m working on. This also includes a non-writing project. Keep your eyes peeled for the first Running on Sunshine video post 🙂
  • COOK! When I am well-rested and not being pulled in a million directions, my creative energy is always running on high. I am so excited to get in the kitchen and play this week.
  • ORGANIZE! I am a sucker for organization tools and tips. I could browse realsimple’s home & organizing tab all day.
  • YOGA! I kicked off my spring break with the most amazing yoga practice on Friday. Sadly, I’ve been neglecting my yoga practice since school started up again. Even though it’s been so long since I’ve had an official (as in not in my living room) date with my yoga mat, I felt right at home. I’m not sure if it was because I had so much built up stress to melt away or if I was just really jiving with the yoga instructor (first time I had a class with her), but it literally brought me back to life. I felt 100 times better walking out of the studio than I did walking in. {Yoga post in the works}

 

 

With number one finished, I’m ready to tackle the rest of my list. I’ve already gotten a good start on cooking. Some recent things to come out of my kitchen:

Homemade granola. I used this recipe. I’ve made this many, many times. We can’t get enough of it! This time I was out of cinnamon, so I subbed ginger and it turned out to be amazing!

My favorite way to eat granola is atop nonfat plain greek yogurt.

*******************************************************************************

I also made chili adapted from the recipe for Coco-Coconut Chili in Dreena Burton’s Eat, Drink, and Be Vegan cookbook. I used the recipe as a guide and made a lot of substitution. Here’s what I threw in my pot…

Ingredients:

  • 1 T coconut oil (or olive oil)
  • 1/2 red onion, diced
  • about 1/2 cup diced celery
  • 2 jalapeno peppers, diced
  • 1-2 cloves minced garlic
  • 1 sweet potato, cubed
  • 1/2 block tempeh, crumbled
  • 1 T chili powder
  • 1/2 t salt
  • black pepper to taste
  • ~ 1/4 t allspice
  • 1 heaping T cocoa powder
  • 1 can diced tomatoes
  • 1 can light coconut milk
  • 1.5 cups black-eyed peas
  • 1/4 cup shredded coconut
  • ~1/2 cup corn kernels (I used frozen)
  • the juice of 1 lime

How To:

  • Heat large soup pot over medium with oil.
  • Add onion, celery, peppers, garlic, sweet potato, tempeh, and spices to the hot oil and saute until the onion and celery soften.
  • Stir in cocoa powder
  • Add tomatoes, coconut milk, peas, shredded coconut, and corn to the pot. I added about a 1/2 can of water at this point to make it more soupy. Bring to a boil.
  • Reduce the heat and simmer for about 30 minute or until the sweet potato cubes are tender.
  • Squeeze the juice of 1 lime into the soup and serve.

I topped mine with crumbled blue corn chips and red chili pepper flakes. It was incredible. Can’t wait to enjoy the leftovers tomorrow. I hardly ever follow recipes exactly. I’m always improvising and substituting. That’s what makes cooking fun! Try it 🙂

I’m off to foam roll my very sore legs. I will see you all later in the week hopefully with a video post (!!) and Workout of the Week.

Thanks for reading 🙂

5 Responses to “Time To Unwind”

  1. emily March 14, 2011 at 5:10 am #

    Glad you’re enjoying break so far! Hope it is completely restful and productive. 🙂 Your granola looks so good, too! I haven’t made a batch in a while, but I just might…your post is inspiring!

  2. Laura March 14, 2011 at 11:06 am #

    You are just adorable. Love everything about this post. Glad someone does something productive with their blogging 🙂

  3. mindrunningwild March 17, 2011 at 7:38 pm #

    reading yes!! Spring break means having time to read!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Staycation « Running on Sunshine - April 5, 2011

    […] I told you all about my big spring break plans, I owe you a little re-cap of what actually went […]

  2. On-The-Go Snacks « Running on Sunshine - March 10, 2012

    […] For me this isn’t just any weekend- it’s the first weekend of my Spring Break! Check out what Spring Break ’11 entailed here. […]

Leave a Reply

