Staycation

5 Apr

Since I told you all about my big spring break plans, I owe you a little re-cap of what actually went down.

I’ve been accused of being boring. Can you believe this nonsense?? I guess because I’m not exactly a stereotypical 20-something college student, then that makes me boring. Don’t get me wrong, I do occasionally engage in a little 20-something fun with my friends. But on most days I’m up by 6am and in bed by 10pm, I thoroughly enjoy my Friday night yoga/grocery store routine, and nothing makes me happier than a trip to the farmer’s market on a Saturday morning. Does this make me boring? Nah, it just makes me me.

To each her (or his) own.

So, some might say my spring break was pretty lame, but it’s all relative. In my opinion, it was fabulous.

My Wild and Crazy Spring Break

~I threw back some pretty potent cocktails. These are not for the faint of heart, people.

Exhibit A: a delicious GT Synergy Kombucha {mystic mango}.

Exhibit B: Beets+carrots+ginger+oranges. You’re welcome, circulatory system.

~I was in a wet t-shirt contest…. of sorts.

My friend Katie coaxed me in to trying Bikram Yoga for the first time. It is a 90 minute yoga class during which you perform a series of 26 postures twice in a room heated to 105*. I’ve never experienced anything quite like it, and I’m still evaluating whether I love it or not.

The positive: At the end, I felt so alive (my whole body was pulsing), completely detoxed and pure, and I could literally wring the sweat out of my soaking wet top.

The negative: It isn’t that athletically intense, but I felt like I had just raced a half-marathon. At many points throughout the 90 minutes, I felt like I was going to faint and had to sit down. Insanity.

~I got my dose of adrenaline by mastering something wild and crazy- arm balances.

I finally got back in touch with my inner yogi. I squeezed in five practices during my week off. It felt great!

~I scrubbed the cocoon until I could see my reflection in the surfaces.

I would never survive in a Panama City Beach hotel room. I must have order in my life or all hope is lost.

~ And, last but certainly not least, I indulged a little.

Oh man.

I hate to leave you hanging, but… recipe post for this ^^^ baby coming soon 🙂

Spring Break ’11 (the first spring break in my life that I haven’t gone on vacation) was a success. Now it’s time to knock out these last 6 weeks of undergrad…

Congrats to all my classmates who found out on Sunday where they will be interning next year!!

Happy Tuesday!

Thanks for reading 🙂

6 Responses to “Staycation”

  1. laura April 6, 2011 at 9:06 am #

    Girl, you’re not boring one bit!! You are always doing something fun and interesting. Plus, your spring break is my ideal spring break too…so we can be “boring” together 🙂

  2. emily April 6, 2011 at 9:12 am #

    Sounds like a wonderful break Kayli! I don’t think you’re boring at all; love all those things, too. 🙂

    Good luck with the last 6 weeks of school! And congrats on SLU’s internship next year! When I visit the StL (maybe sometime later this spring/summer), we should meet up! 🙂

  3. Sarah April 6, 2011 at 12:30 pm #

    Kaylis,
    Seeing you in that white doc. smock is so suiting, you look very Professional Chic! Contrat’s on your internship!

  4. Deb April 6, 2011 at 8:00 pm #

    Wow, I had to take a second look at that yoga position. I never think of you as boring, just the person I want to be when I grow up!!

  5. Mom April 7, 2011 at 10:28 am #

    Looks like a fabulous week! Although, I did miss a tropical get away with you this year. We will have to plan one when you graduate!!! Love you

  6. Katie April 12, 2011 at 5:10 pm #

    Ohh girlll!! one more trip to the torture chamber and you will be hooked! LETS DO IT 🙂

Leave a Reply

