Stress-Less

24 May

Hello out there! Anyone there? Remember me?

I have been absent from Running on Sunshine for far too long. I felt like a piece of my soul was missing! The truth is, I’ve been stressed to the max. Nothing sucks away your creative motivation and energy quite like stress.

My own family as well as a very dear friend’s family have been going through some very difficult situations. The worry and stress that I feel from this compounded with wrapping up my undergraduate career really did a number on me. Maybe this is all TMI, but I felt it would be unauthentic to come onto Running on Sunshine and pretend that life is perfect. If there is one thing I strive to be for all of you, it is authentic. No, I am not running on sunshine 100% of the time and that is perfectly okay.

Stress impacts my eating habits, sleeping habits, exercise habits, and motivation levels. Sometimes I get so worked up that it makes me feel physically sick, making my appetite disappear. Sometimes I seek comfort in unhealthy foods. Sometimes I lose all desire to go for a run even though I know it will make me feel better. Sometimes I lie awake all night long, only to struggle to keep my eyes open all day long. These are all normal reactions to stress! When these things happen, we tend to beat ourselves up. “What is wrong with me? I haven’t exercised in a week!” “Ugh, why can’t I get motivated!” “I’ve already eaten terrible all week, so what’s the point of starting fresh tomorrow?” Sound familiar?

Instead of beating ourselves up, we should be taking extra care of ourselves. If I don’t have the energy for an intense workout, I take a relaxing walk with JWD or stretch/practice yoga instead. If I don’t have an appetite, I nourish myself with a smoothie. If I find myself turning to food for comfort, I recognize why I’m doing it and try to talk it out instead. If I don’t have the motivation to write a blog post, I give myself a little break. Stress wreaks emotional, mental, and physical havoc on your body. Be kind to yourself.

One thing that signals my stress level is my skin. My skin is very acne-prone. When my body is stressed, my skin doesn’t hide it! I graduated from college this past weekend (woohoo!!), and after the whirlwind settled I treated my skin to a little DIY facial. It worked wonders!

Stress-Less DIY Face Mask

  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp nutmeg

Mix together all three ingredients until a chocolatey-colored paste forms. Spread onto skin and let sit for 30 minutes. Rinse off with warm water, scrubbing in small circles. The nutmeg crumbs act as a gentle exfoliant! Instead of drying with a towel, let your face air-dry.

Now that I’ve wrapped up a very busy chapter of my life, I have a couple months to take a breath before the next crazy chapter begins. I plan to use this breathing period to dive head first into Running on Sunshine. I love hearing all of your positive feedback and it motivates me to continue growing the blog into something even better! So please throw your suggestions my way! What do you want to read about? What do you want my next videos to be about? I’m all ears!

If you haven’t “Liked” the Running on Sunshine Facebook page, do it now! I am starting to post quick and easy health tidbits.

It feels so good to be back.

Thanks for reading 🙂

 

 

 

One Response to “Stress-Less”

  1. Janet Osteen May 26, 2011 at 5:24 pm #

    I’m glad you’re back with your blog. Congrats, Kayli, on your graduation. Best wishes.

Leave a Reply

