We Go Both Ways

26 May

Happy Thursday! I hope the sun is shining where you are because it certainly isn’t shining here…

We’ve had quite the tumultuous weather in STL this spring. I had to gather kitties and electronics into the laundry room THREE times yesterday because of severe weather. Gracie was glued to her mommy’s side.

My heart goes out to those impacted by the devastating storm in Joplin, MO. Such a tragedy.

On this gloomy day I find myself dreaming of somewhere warm and sunny. sigh…

I guess a warm bowl oatmeal will have to do.

Kayli’s Classic Oatmeal

  • 1/2 cup old-fashioned oats, cooked in water on the stove-top
  • A splash of almond milk added at the end of cooking
  • 1/2 a banana, sliced
  • 1-2 T walnuts
  • cinnamon + stevia to taste

When the weather is dreary, I have no excuse not to sit inside and work! Lucky for me, part of my “job” is kitchen experimentation!

One of my favorite things to do is make meals that “go both ways”. JWD is a part-time vegetarian. I’m a little more than part-time, but a little less than full-time. We’ll call me a 4/5-time vegetarian. ANYWAYS, there are many days when JWD wants something meaty and I am not feeling omnivorous (how do ya like that $10 word??). So, a meal that “goes both ways” is necessary!

Last Tuesday we were faced with this very predicament. I made this incredible Easy Tomato Basil Cream Pasta from Oh She Glows. It was so good and so easy!

(source)

I split the pasta into two portions and added crumbled tempeh to my portion and homemade turkey meatballs to JWD’s portion.

Easy, Healthy Homemade Turkey Meatballs


Ingredients:

  • 1 lb. ground turkey
  • 1 egg
  • 3/4 cup oat bran (breadcrumbs will also work)
  • 1/2 an onion, diced
  • about 6 T fresh herbs or 3 T dried herbs of choice. I used dried basil, oregano, and thyme
  • 1-2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp pepper

How-To:

  • Preheat oven to 400* F
  • Mix together egg, oat bran, onion, garlic, herbs and spices until well combined.

  • Add ground turkey and mix well. You may have to get down and dirty and use your hands.
  • Form equal-sized meatballs with hands or ice cream scoop and place on a lightly greased cookie sheet (or a parchment paper-lined cookie sheet).
  • Bake for about 15-20 minutes or until browned and cooked throughout. Keep an eye on them because over-cooking will result in dry, hard meatballs.

I then added the meatballs to a pot of heated pasta sauce for more flavor. We’re using the leftovers as a topping choice for a build-your-own pizza party tonight!

No more fretting when someone in the family (or you) decides to eat less meat! Adapting meals is easy peasy- we do it all the time. Maybe I should make “we go both ways” meals a regular topic around here.

**REMINDER: Don’t forget to “Like” the Running on Sunshine Facebook page for a bigger dose of food, fitness, and fun!**

Thanks for reading 🙂

One Response to “We Go Both Ways”

  1. emily May 26, 2011 at 5:24 pm #

    the weather has been pretty scary lately!
    congrats on being done for the year…so exciting to start the dietetic internship soon, too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

