Date Night + Forks Over Knives

5 Jun

Hey friends! I hope you had a great weekend.

I wrote a post about the movie Forks Over Knives that I intended to publish on Friday, but my weekend made me rethink and revise what I wrote.

I spend the majority of my time either alone, with JWD, or with my fellow nutrition enthusiasts. We all have the healthy eating thing down pretty well and none of us are following extreme fad diets. We have many well-stocked grocery stores at our fingertips and the amazing local restaurant culture in St. Louis keeps us from darkening the doorways of American chains (i.e. Applebee’s and McDonald’s). So, it is a little too easy for me to forget about the everyday food lives of the typical American.

The typical American is bombarded with the latest diet books, fast food chains, food advertisements with too-good-to-be-true health claims, and nutrition tips and advice everyday. This toxic environment has bred a society that is completely obsessed with health, yet so very unhealthy. Simply put, it has lead to mass confusion.

My weekend away from my nutrition-savvy circle brought me back to the reality of this very problem.

Here are a few questions I got this weekend: Is bread bad or good? How many eggs in a week is too many? How do vegetarians get their protein? Do they need to combine foods? How do I eat healthy at a buffet? What if my grocery store doesn’t carry all of the specialty health products I read about? Is the calorie restriction diet unhealthy?

All of these are very valid questions with complicated answers. I have a bachelor’s in nutrition and these questions even make my head spin! So, today I’m going to attempt to give you my very basic philosophy on nutrition- the guidelines I live by to maintain my health. But first let’s start with a little recap of last week’s date night…

Thursday night was date night for me and JWD. The plan was dinner and a movie.

We started off with a Whole Foods dinner.

This jumble of heaven includes steamed kale, mixed greens, carrots, tofu, roasted sweet potatoes, tabbouleh, Detox Salad, balsamic vinaigrette, and a sprinkle of goat cheese.

Then we headed to the movie theater.

Agreeing on a movie can often be a grueling task in our house, but not tonight. We were both more than excited to see Forks Over Knives.

Please click to watch the Forks Over Knives trailer. It gives me chills!

From the movie’s website:

“FORKS OVER KNIVES examines the profound claim that most, if not all, of the so-called “diseases of affluence” that afflict us can be controlled, or even reversed, by rejecting our present menu of animal-based and processed foods. The major storyline in the film traces the personal journeys of a pair of pioneering yet under-appreciated researchers, Dr. T. Colin Campbell and Dr. Caldwell Esselstyn.”

The “diseases of affluence” they are referring to include obesity, type 2 diabetes, heart disease, and cancer. These diseases are more common among the affluent because people tend to adopt the “Western lifestyle” as their economic status improves (i.e. less physical activity, more animal products, more indulgences, etc.)

As it says, the film documents the work of two men, one a nutritional scientist and the other a medical doctor, who each discovered through separate research that people with higher intake of animal products are more likely to develop cancer and other diseases than people who eat a plant-based diet. The film also chronicles the stories of patients who have reversed their diseases by switching to a plant-based diet.

I LOVED this film!!

My Thoughts:

{Dr. Campbell, Ph.D. and Dr. Esselstyn, M.D.}

These two men  grew up on farms- their families’ livelihoods depended upon people eating animal products. They aren’t hippies. They aren’t tree-huggers. They aren’t extremists. They didn’t begin their careers with a predisposed belief that animal products are unhealthy. They simply made this discovery through critical scientific research. Their discoveries challenged their own core beliefs, but they couldn’t deny the evidence.

I must admit that dietitians and “nutritionists” are as much to blame for the confusion as other healthcare professionals. The only dietitian in the film was on the opposing side. *sigh* I sunk down in my seat a little when she was giving her opinion that we need animal protein to be healthy and eliminating it puts us at risk for deficiencies. This is not the opinion of all dietitians, but I’ve heard it echoed by many. This is not an opinion I share.

Forks Over Knives gives a fascinating look inside an area of research that gets little media attention. Through the personal stories in the film, it shows that a plant-based diet really does work and anyone from an Ultimate Fighter to a 50-year-old woman with breast cancer can benefit from it.

Now it’s time for me to share my nutrition philosophy. Because the realm of health and nutrition has falsely been made to seem mystical and confusing, you may be astounded at how simple my philosophy is. I live by the words of Micheal Pollan, author of In Defense of Food “Eat real food. Not too much. Mostly plants.”

Eat Real Food.

Real food is simple. Real food is whole and unprocessed. It is not fancy. It is not “manufactured” in a lab. It does not have magical health claims plastered all over its packaging. In fact, it probably doesn’t even have packaging. Real food is apples, spinach, carrots, brown rice, beans, peas, lentils, and avocados. If your diet is made up of a variety of real food, you don’t need to worry about the extensive nutrition vocabulary- words like antioxidant, amino acid, trans fat, etc.

Not Too Much.

This one is a toughy in our current food climate. As a society we have completely lost sight of appropriate portion sizes. We are so used to being served a platter of pasta at restaurants, that the 1-cup appropriate pasta serving seems tiny. This is one of the ideas behind the new plate that has replaced the Food Guide Pyramid. It gives people a visual of appropriate food portions in relation to other food groups. It is similar to the strategy I use. I always fill at least half my plate with fruits and vegetables. I’ll talk more in depth about the new plate in an upcoming post. For a rundown on portion sizes, check out this post.

Mostly Plants.

This final guideline brings us full circle back to the film. Forks Over Knives suggests that by eating mostly plants, we can prevent and cure diseases of affluence. It is a myth that humans need animal products to be healthy. More and more research is showing that we are healthier without animal products. These diseases of affluence are basically nonexistent in parts of the world where animal products are minimally consumed.

So why isn’t this common knowledge? The meat and dairy industry (along with all processed food companies) are extremely large and powerful, and they aren’t afraid to exercise their power on our government. I’ll save the political discussion for another day. In the conditions of our current society, healthy plant-eating people aren’t worth much money to the food industry/pharmaceutical industry.

Eating a diet of real food, mostly plants, and exercising portion control is so incredibly simple. However, it is perceived as extreme because it is so drastically different from the typical American diet. I know that following these three guidelines leads to health and vitality. I know this from my personal experience, my studies in nutrition, and the research of others.

Because our current food society makes this simple idea so complicated, I am on a mission to simplify it. I want to show you that eating healthy is not complicated, technical, or extreme.

Paraphrasing Dr. Esselstyn from the film- “most people scoff at a plant-based diet because it is “too extreme”, but isn’t having your chest split open for heart surgery pretty extreme?”

GO SEE FORKS OVER KNIVES {check here to find a theater near you}

and thanks for reading 🙂

 

4 Responses to “Date Night + Forks Over Knives”

  1. Amanda (Eating Up) June 5, 2011 at 10:21 pm #

    I want to see Forks Over Knives! I hope it’s still playing in St. Louis when I move back in a couple weeks.

  2. emily June 6, 2011 at 5:21 am #

    Great review and summary of your eating philosophy, Kayli! It’s unfortunate that the only dietitian in the movie misrepresented how many of us feel about animal products, but I have to admit that I know many dietitians who think similarly and have no problem with processed products. That is why we need future dietitians like you to help shake things up! I really want to see FON; it came to a city near me earlier this year, but I wasn’t able to go. Hopefully it’ll come to Ann Arbor, soon!

    • admin June 8, 2011 at 3:54 pm #

      I think you would love it!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Where Do You Get Your Protein? « Running on Sunshine - June 19, 2012

    […] for Also, high protein diets are being investigated for a possible link to cancer. The documentary Forks Over Knives talks about this quite a bit. Moral of the story: more is not […]

Leave a Reply

