A Weekend For The Books

19 Jun

Hey there! I hope everyone enjoyed the weekend!

I started my weekend with a Friday afternoon community yoga session. {community yoga= donation-based class}. It was fabulous. I’m working on perfecting my crow.

[source]

Then JWD and I inhaled a Vegged Out pizza from PW Pizza. This place is a new fave. We had plans to meet friends for drinks, but we ended up relaxing at home and making it an early night. Just what I needed.

Saturday morning started off bright and early with a crazy 6 a.m. thunderstorm. I crawled out of bed to start the coffee pot, then snuggled with the kitties and listened to the rain. Thankfully the rain stopped just in time for the the farmer’s market!

The market was in full bloom! We sauntered around for a long time and hung out to watch the performer. She sounded like Ingrid Michaelson. It turned into such a peaceful morning, we didn’t want to leave!

The loot:

{eggs, fingerling potatoes, cucumbers, yellow squash, tomatoes, beets, green onion, radishes, broccoli, kale, and Companion bread}

Lunch was Local Harvest– an egg sandwich on a sunflower wheat bagel with a slice of tomato and Ah Zeefa lentil spread.

After our morning full of foodie fun, we braved the humid STL weather and went for a run. Then we spent the evening BBQing and playing games with friends. I brought my own veggie burger to grill and we tried a new beer from JWD’s favorite brewery- New Belgium Somersault. It was light and fruity, a perfect summer beer. It was great night 🙂

Today was a classic Sunday. It began with Kaldi’s Birds & Bees coffee served in one of my great grandma’s mugs.

I had this:

and this:

waiting for me. Two blank canvases and my great grandma’s paint box {I was missing her today}. I set to work.

I broke for a little Father’s Day brunch with my dad at a favorite spot of mine. I’ll give you the scoop later this week. The rest of the afternoon was spent painting, trip planning, strolling, and cleaning. Perfect Sunday.

The game plan for the week:

Dinners

Monday: Parchment fish + fingerling potatoes + kale chips

Tuesday: Protein Power Goddess Bowls

Wednesday: out to dinner

Thursday: Lazy Day Peanut Noodle Salad

Friday: TBD dish with orzo. Any suggestions??

Workouts

Monday: early morning bike + weights

Tuesday: run

Wednesday: weights

Thursday: run

Friday: weights + yoga

Time to put clean sheets on the bed and wind down with a little yoga!

Thanks for reading 🙂

2 Responses to “A Weekend For The Books”

  1. emily June 20, 2011 at 5:21 am #

    Sounds like a fantastic weekend! I’m quite sure we would hang out if I lived in the StL…I love all of those things, too. I can’t believe how fantastic the TG farmers’ market looks. I’m jealous of all of that great produce. It hasn’t been quite warm enough here yet, but hopefully our market will pick up soon. And I miss Local Harvest SOO much. Love that place!
    Can’t wait to see your finished paintings. I wish I could paint, but I’m definitely not artistically talented. I love the green colors you chose, though!

  2. Laura June 20, 2011 at 7:43 pm #

    I want to see the final product of that cute painting!!! Looks like you had a fabulous weekend 🙂

Leave a Reply

