How I Outsmarted the No Sugar Challenge

1 Jul

Hey there, I hope everyone is having a great week! The holiday weekend is almost here!

As promised, a little recap of Wednesday’s dinner out. We didn’t end up at our usual Wednesday night spot, so look forward to that review in the future. We did end up at one of our all-time favorites in STL- Local Harvest. As usual, it was incredible. I got so excited about our meal, that I forgot to photograph before I started demolishing. Oops.

I had the Nicoise Salad.


“Greens, house-smoked Missouri trout, house pickled green beans, hard-boiled Missouri cage-free eggs, red onion, caper berries, potatoes, kalamata olives, balsamic vinaigrette.”

It was exactly what I was craving! Hit. the. spot. I skipped out on the hard-boiled eggs.

JWD had the veggie burger with quinoa salad and Billy Goat chips on the side.

“Veggie & pinto burger, served on brioche with our famous hummus, red onion, pickles, and roasted garlic aioli”

If you find yourself in STL, Local Harvest is a must.

I mentioned in my last post that JWD and I challenged each other to refrain from eating our favorite food group sugar this week.

We usually treat ourselves to a daily dose of dessert- a little dark chocolate, frozen yogurt, or a cookie are the typical choices.

I was sooo cocky a few days ago. I said”Pshhh, a week without sugar? Piece. Of. Cake.” Since then, I’ve gone to bed every night with visions of sugar plums chocolate chips dancing in my head. I suddenly remembered the forgotten sleeve of Girl Scout Thin Mints in the back of the freezer. Knowing that I can’t have it makes me want it so much more!

Last night my cravings overcame me and I just had to satisfy it. So I made…

Banana Soft Serve.

You didn’t actually think I was going to give in, did you!? Oh no. There is always a loophole, my friends.

1. Freeze.

(3 ripe bananas, sliced)

2. Whirl.

(Blend frozen bananas in a food processor or blender until it resembles soft serve ice cream)

3. Accessorize.

(Adorn your creation with whatever your heart desires. Extracts, berries, coconut. I chose a dash of cinnamon and a spoonful of unsweetened cocoa powder)

Sugar craving satisfied with natural, whole foods.

Enjoy the holiday and I’ll see you on the other side!

Thanks for reading 🙂

2 Responses to “How I Outsmarted the No Sugar Challenge”

  1. Janet Osteen July 1, 2011 at 11:43 am #

    I have a sweet tooth that can hardly be contained at times, I love this idea. I always keep bananas in the freezer and this is a great way to use them for something other than banana bread. Thanks for your tips and insight. Enjoy your weekend.

  2. emily July 5, 2011 at 3:56 pm #

    i love LHC..visited many times while interning! and i also love banana softserve; great job outsmarting the no sugar challenge!

Leave a Reply

