The Little Things

28 Jan

Sometimes I get in my own way. It’s something I’m really working on, and the blogging thing is no exception. Lately I’ve struggled with the direction and focus of the blog. I tend to put too much pressure on it, over-think it, and… don’t write. This happens in other arenas of life too. We tie ourselves down and hold ourselves back with so many “shoulds” and self-imposed rules and pressure and end up holding ourselves back from the things we want. Since I am finding myself desperately missing blogging, I’ve decided to stop getting in my own way and just write.

When I open my eyes and think about it, I encounter about a million different bloggable scenerios on a daily basis- we all do. In fact, it’s usually the little things rather than the big things that are the most applicable.

Like the delicious vegan banana pancakes I made last Saturday

Or how a postural alignment assessment told an interesting story about my aches, pains, and past injuries.

Or how to slice citrus so it forms friendly little segments.

Or the eclectic army I assembled to go to war with a looming cold.

Or my thoughts on attending a Michael Pollan speaking event last week. (this is more of a big thing)

Or how making time for Saturday morning coffee with a friend reminds me how important it is to invest in relationships the same way we invest in strangers, homework, and careers.

Many life moments that seem so irrelevant are actually incredibly relevant and telling.

It really is all about the little things.

Thanks for reading đŸ™‚

One Response to “The Little Things”

  1. solfoodie January 29, 2012 at 12:35 pm #

    I hear you on the blogging thing and the vegan pancakes look amazing.

Leave a Reply

