Video Post: The Sunshine Smoothie

26 Jun

Hello, friends!

Hope you all had a wonderful weekend. JWD and I enjoyed an amazing weekend of wedding festivities. Love was certainly in the air.

Now, back to the purpose of this post.

I am a die-hard, heart fluttering, boy band-style fan of smoothies. We already know this. I have a Vitamix. Special smoothie straws. Special smoothie cups to be used only for smoothies and if they are seen being used for anything other than smoothies or, worse, being put in the dishwasher (I’m lookin’ at you, JWD) you will receive a death glare. I know all the best smoothie places in the city. I have seven, yes seven, smoothie recipe books.

But I don’t know why I bother with all of this because I always come back to the same recipe: the Sunshine Smoothie. Watch and learn, my friends.

Don’t I look tired? If you answered “no”, you are lying. I filmed this a few months ago when the internship was still in full swing. I look much less like a zombie today.

A few more smoothie tips:

  • My friend came up with the fabulous idea of using frozen spinach instead of fresh. Not only is it cheaper and lasts longer than fresh, it also adds thickness because it’s frozen. Genius!
  • Bananas going bad on you? Stick ’em in the freezer and they’ll be perfect smoothie additions. But don’t forget to peel them first! Otherwise, the peel basically freezes shut. It’s okay, don’t be embarrassed. We’ve all done it 🙂
  • Add less liquid for a thick soft-serve style smoothie. I love to put thick smoothies in a bowl, top with a sprinkle of granola, and eat it with a spoon.

I really love the video posts (and I think you do too?), so I want to do more. Any ideas? Do you want lunch ideas? Breakfast ideas? Workouts? Want to see what’s in my fridge? Q & A? Leave a comment here, on Twitter, or on the Running on Sunshine Facebook page to tell me what you want to see!

Have a fantastic week! Thanks for reading 🙂

2 Responses to “Video Post: The Sunshine Smoothie”

  1. kimbz June 29, 2012 at 1:52 pm #

    I have been loving green smoothies lately. I keep mine pretty basic: spinach, almond milk and protein powder. So good!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The ABCs of Me « Running on Sunshine - July 1, 2012

    […] Yummy food you make: I would like to think most of it is pretty tasty! Some current favorites: Sunshine Smoothie, homemade peanut sauce, homemade black bean burgers, and banana […]

Leave a Reply

