The ABCs of Me

1 Jul

The other day I asked a friend for her opinion on how to make Running on Sunshine better. I am in a better place in my life right now to be able to give more and want to amp things up around here. Her answer was simple and something I kind of already knew: get more personal. I tend to be a tough shell to crack- I’m introverted, private, and pretty guarded. But I want you all to get to know me better. We’ll kick it off with a fun game that has made its way around the blog world: “The ABCs of Me”

The ABCs of Kayli

A. Age: 3 short months from 25. This is my first experience with the concept of a “scary age”.

B. Bed size: Full.

C. Chore you dislike: It used to be cleaning the blender until I learned this trick: fill the dirty blender halfway with warm water and a squirt of soap. Put it back on the base and whirl away until it’s clean. It’s like creating a little dishwasher inside the blender. Now, my least favorite chore is putting away clothes. You’d think this would deter me from shopping, but it doesn’t…

D. Dogs: No dogs, just two seriously adorable cats.

E. Essential start to your day: Coffee, oats, and social media/blog/article catch-up on the iPad.

F. Favorite colors: Turquoise.

G. Gold or silver: Love them both, but I tend to wear more gold.

H. Height: 5’4’’

I. Instruments you play(ed): I took guitar lessons in high school. I can play one Nirvana song 🙂 I hope to pick it up again someday.

J. Job title: Blogger, soon-to-be dietitian and personal trainer, and graduate assistant in the Nutrition Department at SLU.

K. Kids: Not any time soon 🙂

L. Live: St. Louis, MO- where the food scene is highly under-rated. Come visit me, I’ll blow your mind.

M. Mom’s name: Corrina 🙂

N. Nicknames: Kay, KP, Kaybear.

O. Overnight hospital stays: Never!

P. Pet peeves: Grammar, incorrect use of homonyms, when people aren’t true to themselves, bad listeners. I’m sure JWD can add to this list 😉

Q. Quote from a movie: Hmm… not a big movie watcher (can’t sit still that long), so I’ll give you my favorite yoga mantra: “I have enough, I do enough, I am enough.”

R. Righty or lefty: Righty.

S. Siblings: A beautiful older sister!

T. Time you wake up: Usually between 6am and 7am. I love mornings.

U. Underwear: I said I wanted to get more personal, but I have to draw the line somewhere!

V. Vegetables you don’t like: I honestly can’t think of one! Maybe frisee lettuce, not crazy about the mouth-feel.

W. What makes you run late: Uh, anything and everything. Much to JWD’s dismay, I am always running late.

X. X-rays you’ve had: Stress fracture in my foot from back-to-back half marathon training.

Y. Yummy food you make: I would like to think most of it is pretty tasty! Some current favorites: Sunshine Smoothie, homemade peanut sauce, homemade black bean burgers, and banana pops.

Z. Zoo animal you like: I’m not crazy about the zoo, but I do like the lions. They remind me of my cats.

It’s been a great Sunday over here. Some of today’s eats so far:

Cereal! I’ve been on an overnight oats kick, but cereal always sounds good before yoga on the weekends. Plain cereal usually doesn’t hold me over for very long, so I always jazz it up: Trader Joe’s Flax Cereal, Greek yogurt, 1/2 a peach, 1/2 a banana, almond milk, and a sprinkle of oats and walnuts.

Lunch was much-needed after hot vinyasa yoga and some pool/sun time with JWD.

A veggie and egg scramble, toast, and watermelon while prepping for a BBQ later tonight. I’m off to finish up the veggie burgers before we leave!

Happy July and thanks for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

