The Practice and Holiday Happenings

5 Jul

Hello, friends! I hope everyone had a safe and enjoyable mid-week holiday. We enjoyed a low-key day around here, but before I get to that I want to back up to Monday for a little yoga talk.

I’ve been practicing yoga for over 6 years, but have just recently fallen in love with Power Vinyasa. I’ve been doing it pretty consistently for the past 6 months. Power Vinyasa is an intense, athletic practice where you flow through challenging poses in a heated studio for about 90 minutes. My studio keeps it right around 85*. I think it’s the intensity of the practice that I love- it forces me to be present and let go. I find it really challenging to turn off my brain and be present in slower yoga practices. It sounds crazy, but I need intensity to relax instead of serenity!

Anyway, back to Monday. I’ve been on a great streak with my yoga practices lately. I’ve pushed myself into a lot of new postures and always leave the studio feeling a million times better than when I came. This was not the case on Monday. About halfway through the practice right after a failed attempt at a tripod headstand- I felt awful. The heat never bothers me, but at this moment I felt dizzy, weak, and like I was going to get sick. I spent the last half of class in and out of child’s pose trying to figure out what was going on with me. Was it dehydration? Not enough to eat? Was it hotter than usual? I was so frustrated that I couldn’t practice my normal advanced postures.

I considered leaving several times, but decided to stay when my teacher gave the class a timely reminder. She said “Remember, this is our practice, not our perfect. You come to class to practice, not perform.” Just the reminder I needed. Often times we get so caught up in performing. We let our ego take control. We need to remind ourselves that every yoga class, every run, every day is practice. What are we practicing for? I’m not really sure. But that’s the point- the focus should be on experiencing, not mastering- in yoga and in life 🙂

Enough philosophy, let’s talk 4th of July. We forgot to set an alarm and slept for 9 glorious, uninterrupted hours! It was great, but it made for a hot start to our holiday. After a quick bowl of cereal and yogurt, we biked to a nearby track for an interval workout.

Less intense than I planned due to the hot temps. Here’s what I did:

  • 1 lap warm-up jog.
  • 2 laps sprinting the straights and jogging the curves.
  • 4 sets of barefoot intervals on the soccer field- sprint down, jog back.

And then we stretched and played…

          

After some fun with handstand practice, we biked home for “second breakfast” (which ended up being lunch).

JWD whipped up eggs scrambled with veggies and potatoes.

Iced coffee on the side (post on the technique next time!).

The rest of our holiday was filled with packing (we are moving in a few short weeks!), a successful trip to Lululemon for some new workout clothes (I live in workout clothes now for work and play and I feel like I’m killing them by washing them so frequently), a simple summer dinner (BBQ tempeh, corn on the cob and tomato-cucumber salad), and no fireworks. At the risk of sounding unpatriotic, I have a confession: JWD and I hate fireworks. I think it’s the mix of air pollution, noise pollution, and the lonnnng shows. It gives me anxiety. I’m a delicate creature 🙂 Nevertheless, we were forced to listen to them BOOM well into the morning hours.

Today was yoga and pool time with Mom and Sis, swimming laps with JWD (we’re slowly getting better..), and prep for a weekend trip! Have a wonderful weekend! see you on the other side…

Thanks for reading 🙂

One Response to “The Practice and Holiday Happenings”

  1. Mom July 6, 2012 at 1:00 am #

    Had a great time with my girls…..as always!! So proud of you!! Love you. 🙂
    Mom

Leave a Reply

