French Press Iced Coffee

14 Jul

Those that knew me in a time that now feels like a past life would probably not use words like “simple” or “low-maintenance” to describe me. You see, I used to really love my “stuff”. It was the time of watching Clueless on VHS non-stop (“as if”, “whatever”, and “loser” with the accompanying hand gestures were in my day-to-day vocabulary), crying because Santa got me the wrong color of Limited Too striped pajamas, and having an older sister with the best nail polish collection ever. It didn’t stop in grade school. I spent the majority of my high school years in heels, with a designer purse on one arm and a Tiffany’s bracelet on the other. I was still the same person I am today, I had plenty of substance under my “stuff”. However, my reference point for “need vs. want” has greatly changed- particularly during the recent past. It’s been a year of changes, surprises (both wonderful and horrible), and many transitions. Welcome to adulthood, Kayli. 🙂

A few examples of how we’ve reassessed our need vs. want:

  • Most people consider Kleenex to be a “need”. Not us. Have a runny nose? Find something reusable like a towel or your sleeve. We’ve also gotten quite skilled at the “Hobo Blow” technique 😉
  • If you come over, wear as few clothes as possible. It’s hot in here- sometimes even hotter than it is outside. Good thing I like to sweat.
  • Unplug every appliance if you aren’t actively using it. And the wireless internet. And the television. If we factored in the time it takes to unplug and re-plug in everything, I’m convinced we might break even on this one, but every little bit helps right?
  • Oh, and unplugging the television is no big deal because we don’t have cable anyway, but who needs cable when everyone in the apartment is half-naked? 🙂
  • No, please don’t throw away that stale bread and random broccoli stalk. It will be re-purposed into dinner. Waste not, want not….

Things have definitely changed around here- in my opinion, for the better. Those Starbucks cups that used to be part of my everyday uniform? No longer an option. However, making and drinking coffee at home with JWD every morning has become a ritual I greatly cherish. But what’s a girl to do when it’s 95* in this city and 100* in the apartment? You know what they say, “when life gives you lemons, make lemonade”- or in this case, iced coffee.

I am always blown away by the cost of iced coffee at coffee shops- especially when I realized just how easy it is to make!

Easy French Press Iced Coffee

Step 1: Grab your french press. If don’t have one, then get one. French pressed coffee will change your life. This is the one I have. Add coarse coffee grounds and water to the french press. I like 1/2 cup coffee grounds and 4 cups of water. This makes a strong brew. It’s easy to dilute the final product- but there’s no turning back if it’s to weak.

Step 2: Give it a little stir.

Step 3: Put the lid on, make room in the ‘fridge, and refrigerate overnight (for about 12 hours).

Step 4: After 12 hours, gently press the coffee.

Step 5: Pour over ice, add water and/or milk to adjust the strength, and enjoy. I store the extra in a jar in the refrigerator. Love having iced coffee on-hand for the week!

I like mine strong with a little almond milk.

Yesterday’s breakfast was full of jars.

I made overnight oats using steel-cut oats for the first time. They stay really chewy kind of like Grape Nuts. I added some old-fashioned oats and cereal for texture variety.

In a society driven by money, materials, and “things”, it is all too easy to lose sight of what really matters in life. We let our stuff define us. Sadly, it usually takes a life-altering turn of events to learn this. When I look back at the girl I once was and the life I once had, I don’t feel sad. In some ways, I am still that girl. However, I am grateful that the shifts in my life have touched my feet to the ground and opened my eyes to all the wonderful, incredible, priceless, “non-things” that I have. So when life gives you lemons, make iced coffee, raise your glass, and repeat after me “I have enough, I do enough, I am enough.” Cheers.

Thanks for reading 🙂

7 Responses to “French Press Iced Coffee”

  1. tothineownfoodbetrue July 14, 2012 at 1:39 pm #

    I am so proud of the person you have become! (and you left out a few “phases” of your youth, but I won’t tell 🙂 Through the many trials and transitions you have remained calm (relatively) and have become more beautiful than ever! I am so lucky to be your sister and you’re welcome to borrow my nail polish anytime… Haha… But seriously, first batch of home brew laundry detergent will be ready tomorrow!!

  2. Gerry July 14, 2012 at 2:13 pm #

    I knew the young girl who liked the “stuff” and I know the young woman who makes the best of life she is given and I love them both. They are both the same wonderful selfless person she has always been. I am very proud of you.

  3. christiesneonlife July 14, 2012 at 5:51 pm #

    I never thought of making iced coffee ahead of time! I always just pour the hot coffee over lots of ice and hope for the best. Thanks for the tip – you’re a thinker.

  4. Mom July 16, 2012 at 12:50 am #

    Love this!! Love you!!
    Mom

    Ps. The girl you speak of was as lovely inside as she was outside. Still are.

  5. emily July 17, 2012 at 5:26 pm #

    This sounds perfect for the hot weather we’ve been having. I’ve been thinking about a french press; you might have convinced me. 🙂

  6. Katie@perfectlypoppedkernel.com July 20, 2012 at 8:29 am #

    Pictures came out great. And, I love the use of jars as glasses. Pottery Barn sells them as candle holders too 🙂

  7. Nicole August 14, 2012 at 11:04 am #

    If you add a little bit of brown sugar and a dash of cinnamon to the coffee grounds, it adds a delicious flavor! I also make coffee ice cubes so my iced coffee doesn’t get watered down when the ice melts 🙂

    Not that you NEED these, but these lids for mason jars are awesome (if you haven’t already seen them) http://cuppow.com/

    P.S…I remember the Limited Too days.

Leave a Reply

