Transitions

11 Sep

Historically, this time of year is always chockfull of transitions- with this year being no different. I’ve always had quite an adverse reaction to change, just ask my mom. She would tell you stories of anxiety ridden first days of school, tummy aches on the way to summer camp, and teary phone calls every time a curveball was thrown my way. It recently dawned on me that I’ve actually gotten better at the whole change thing- it takes quite a bit to shake me up these days. Between new jobs (that I’ve yet to tell you about, but definitely intend to!), new graduate classes, a new home, and a new daily routine, transition is in the air. I’ve been so wrapped up in settling in to my “new life” that I almost missed the first glimpses of my favorite season.

The first signs of fall are revealing themselves at our house.

Sure, the endless prattle of the return of Starbucks pumpkin spice lattes clued me in to the changing seasons, but I prefer signs of different sorts.

The AC has been banished and the windows are wide open, with a crisp breeze blowing in- perfect for afternoon napping.

Check out my second favorite room of the new nest. A study complete with french doors, giant windows, original stained glass, and delicious hardwood floors. Obsessed.

You didn’t actually think I was referring to myself napping, did you? C’mon, you know me better than that…

Greens are sprouting on the windowsill.

Another signal of fall- the smells. Today the apartment is filled with the smell of roasting butternut squash…

…waiting to be turned into this:

Blend roasted squash cubes with sautéed onion, garbanzo beans, soy milk, curry powder, salt, pepper, red pepper flakes, and a dash of cinnamon in a food processor or blender until smooth. Simmer on stove until warm throughout. 

I enjoyed my soup with a grilled {goat}cheese fold-over for dunking.

I also know that fall is looming because hot tea and Emergen-C on the rocks are my cocktails of choice. I have the sniffles 😦 …a sure sign the seasons are changing.

Harney & Sons Hot Cinnamon Spice tea is a fall staple for me. There is something so romantic and special about opening the tin, releasing the smell of sweet and spicy cinnamon, and plunging one of the silk teabags into your mug. I’ve only had two tins of this tea- the first given to me by my mom and the second given to me by JWD. I tend to savor it because thinking of the givers when I drink it makes it that much more special. In a strange way this tea is comfort food to me, hence it making an appearance when I’m feeling under the weather.

Now it is time to rest. Workout plans were cancelled for the day in favor of recharging. I am already posted up in bed  for the evening with no plans of moving. Check in for a fun recipe later this week and a peek at my first favorite room of the new nest!

Thanks for reading 🙂 

One Response to “Transitions”

  1. Mom September 12, 2012 at 8:53 am #

    What a great post…..brings back lots of memories. 🙂
    I love you!!
    Mom

Leave a Reply

