Pumpkin Spice Energy Bites

16 Sep

Hello, friends! Happy Sunday 🙂

It was a very fall-like weekend in STL, complete with cooler temps and fall activities. We enjoyed a cozy bonfire with my family. It was fun to break in to my fall wardrobe for the first time!

I was inspired to break in to my pumpkin puree for the first time too! I posted the recipe for these energy bites and mentioned I was planning on playing around with the recipe. Here is my latest creation, a perfect seasonal snack.

Pumpkin Spice Energy Bites

makes 15-20 balls

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup old-fashioned rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup wheat germ (or ground flaxseed)
  • 1/2 cup protein powder (I used vanilla Sunwarrior. If you don’t want to use protein powder, substitute extra wheat germ or shredded coconut)
  • 1/2 cup toasted pecans, chopped or crushed
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp allspice
  • 1/2 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup nut butter (I used almond butter)
  • 1/4 cup pumpkin puree
  • about 1/3 cup honey 

How To:

  •  Combine first 8 ingredients in a mixing bowl.
  • Add nut butter and pumpkin puree and mix with a fork until mixture is crumbly and the nut butter and pumpkin are evenly distributed. 
  • Drizzle in honey and mix until evenly distributed. 
  • Refrigerate for about 30 minutes.
  • Wet hands and form mixture into balls. Store energy bites in the refrigerator.

Mix until crumbly.

Add honey.

These little guys are great for pre- or post-workout fuel and midday snacks. I always stash a couple of them in my bag for the day. They are portable and delicious! 

As promised, here is a peek into my favorite room in the house- the kitchen, of course! What sort of dietitian would I be if I didn’t unpack and organize the kitchen first? 

Bulk food heaven 🙂

The bottom shelf is full of things we use on a daily basis- coffee, oats, brown rice. The second shelf is all dried beans and the top shelf is grains.

Hope you all had a fantastic weekend. See you soon, friends! Thanks for reading 🙂

3 Responses to “Pumpkin Spice Energy Bites”

  1. em September 16, 2012 at 3:34 pm #

    love your new kitchen space; the glass cupboard doors really showcase your bulk storage. and can’t wait to try those pumpkin snacks!

  2. Maggie July 2, 2013 at 2:38 pm #

    Do these have to be refrigerated?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Start with canned pumpkin puree | Words from a visual journalist - October 31, 2012

    […] other snack is pumpkin spice energy bites. Since I’m getting back into a more scheduled running routine, I knew the moisture and flavor […]

Leave a Reply

