Running on Sunshine Favorites List

6 Oct

Happy Saturday, everyone! Mine started out with coffee and computer work on the couch, a successful trip to the farmer’s market, and babysitting. JWD and I are about to have “date night”, but before we do I wanted to share with you ten things I’m loving right now.

Running on Sunshine Current Favorites List

1. Trader Joe’s Frozen Vanilla Greek Fat Free Yogurt

This is amazing stuff, my friends. For only 100 calories you get 1/2 cup frozen yogurt and 6 grams of protein. A great low-calorie dessert option!

2. Trader Joe’s Raw Crunchy Unsalted Almond Butter

This almond butter is addictive. I put it on everything from apples to rice cakes to oatmeal. It’s drippy, sweet, and crunchy. AND it only has one ingredient: almonds!

*Tip* Want natural nut butter but hate stirring it? Store the jar upside-down in the pantry and it will mix on its own.

3. Salt & Vinegar Popchips

I am a sucker for salt and vinegar chips. These Popchips let me get my fix without the extra fat and calories. If you aren’t a salt and vinegar fan, they make tons of other flavors to choose from. I love them all!

4. Nike Frees

I am on my third pair of these babies. They are a great “minimalist” running shoe. They’re light as a feather, breathable, and come in great colors. I wear mine for everything- to run, lift, run errands, and to work.

5. Coconut oil as moisturizer

I’ve always had troublesome skin and for many years focused on drying out my skin to prevent breakouts. I avoided moisturizer like the plague. As I’ve gotten older, I’ve realized that moisturizer is my ally in having good skin. I prefer something natural, so every night I slather my skin with coconut oil. It makes my skin soft, minimizes redness, and smells great. The Trader Joe’s brand is incredibly affordable!

6. Sunwarrior Protein Powder

I’ve been on a kick with Sunwarrior protein shakes. I’m constantly on the go, so I blend a shake in the morning and store it in an insulated travel mug with an icepack in my lunch bag. It makes a perfect post-workout or midmorning snack. We don’t often think of smoothies as “on-the-go” food, but it actually works great as long as you keep it cold!

7. Yogi Tea Pomegranate Green Tea

This tea is my after lunch staple. It gives me a little caffeine boost and keeps my tastebuds occupied so I don’t reach for my afternoon snack too early.

8. Sparkling water

I love my tap water, but sometimes it’s fun to have bubbles! To me, sparkling water is fun to drink and I find the carbonation very satisfying. If I’m feeling really crazy, I’ll throw some frozen fruit in it. You can get store-brand sparkling water at any grocery store and it’s relatively inexpensive. It’s a great zero-calorie option for those of you trying to cut down on soda!

9. Bob’s Red Mill 8 Grain Hot Cereal

I got a free sample of this hot cereal at a women’s health fair I worked at and its been a staple in my pantry ever since! It’s a nice alternative to oatmeal and I love the creamy texture.

10. Strength training

Strength training has been my workout of choice recently. It makes me feel strong, toned, and I love the satisfaction of bumping up my weights as my strength increases. Tune in next time for a full breakdown of my workout routine!

Thanks for reading 🙂

One Response to “Running on Sunshine Favorites List”

  1. Mom October 9, 2012 at 9:30 am #

    You are one of my favorites!!! Can’t wait to hang on Friday. 🙂

Leave a Reply

