Building The Perfect Workout Routine

21 Oct

I get a lot of questions from readers and clients about starting a workout plan and about my workout schedule. My schedule tends to vary from week to week, but I try to stick to a general routine. Today I’m going to break down my workout routine and the four elements that I include when putting a routine together for myself or someone else. I also added a new tab ↑ (look up!) ↑ where I will update my weekly workout schedule, links to workouts, etc. for your sweating inspiration 🙂

Part One: Strength

Strength training really is the foundation of my routine. I think it yields the best results for weight loss, body composition, and overall health. I like to do my strength workouts at a gym, but strength exercises can be done anywhere with bands, dumbbells, soup cans, and even your own bodyweight! I think strength workouts should be done at least two times per week. It can be as simple as a 30-minute routine done in your living room. I would love to make some videos of my favorite strength workouts for you guys soon! I strength train 3 days per week.

Part Two: Endurance

I think of endurance exercise as longer, slower, bouts of cardiovascular exercise. Think walking, running, swimming, biking at a slow and steady pace. It keeps your heart healthy and builds stamina. I try to include at least one endurance workout per week, lasting about 30-60 minutes. My favorites are running, swimming laps, or a long walk or bike ride.

Part Three: High Intensity

High intensity workouts are the opposite of endurance- shorter time and faster pace. Workouts that fall into this category include sprints or intervals on an elliptical/treadmill/bike. I also put plyometrics into this category. I include at least one high-intensity workout per week for about 30 minutes.

Part Four: Flexibility

This is the component that is often forgotten, yet it is so important! Flexibility and stretching exercises keep me feeling limber and healthy. This component can be as easy as stretching for 5 minutes after a walk or run. I include one yoga practice per week to fulfill my flexibility needs.

Now this sounds all fine and dandy, but most peoples’ lives do not allow for structured, elaborate workout schedules. Exercise is a substantial part of my life, but I understand that certainly is not the case for others.

So what should you do if you only have a small window for workouts? Research shows that shorter bouts of exercise, like 10 minute increments, can be just as effective as longer bouts. Try to find at least 10 minutes in your day to move on most days of the week. I don’t care what you do- play with your kids, walk your dog, dance naked in your living room- just move! Do what you can when you can. Here are a few great 10-minute routines to get you started…

A power sculpting workout for the ladies

The time crunch workout for the guys

The 10-minute flat abs workout

A 10-minute yoga workout

Happy sweating! Thanks for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

