Healthy Snack: Crispy Roasted Edamame

3 Dec

Monday is certainly NOT my favorite day of the week. When my alarm goes off and I realize that the weekend is over and a full week stands in front of me, the sadness/grumpiness sets in. This is an ongoing goal of mine- to start the week on a positive note and schedule my weeks so they are a little more bearable. I have a bad habit of cramming as much as I possibly can into 5 days and then completely crashing on the weekends. This way of life does not serve me well! Recently, someone gave me the analogy of the safety instructions that are given on an airplane. They tell you to put your mask on first before helping the person next to you. Why do they tell you to do this? Because you are are much more capable of taking care of others when you take care of yourself first. This really resonated with me and is something I need to work on! Anyone else suffer from “caretaker syndrome”?

Lately my Sundays have focused on pressing the reset button, self-care, and getting myself in the zone for the week ahead. I started yesterday with a very challenging hot yoga practice. We spent the first 10 minutes of the practice doing back-to-back core exercises. My abs were screaming in pain for the remaining hour of the practice! Savasana with wide open windows completely made up for the torture. Still can’t believe the windows were open on Dec. 2nd!

IMG_2423

I followed up yoga with oatmeal chocolate chip pancakes. I was ravenous so pictures did not happen 🙂

The rest of the day was spent situating our Christmas tree,

photo

Veggies for our tree!

IMG_2425IMG_2424

getting work done, and spending some time in the kitchen concocting snackage for the week!

IMG_2432

Roasted Edamame

Ingredients:

  • 1 bag frozen shelled edamame
  • olive oil
  • salt + pepper to taste

How-To:

  • Preheat oven to 400F.
  • Thaw shelled edamame and spread on towel to dry.
  • Toss shelled edamame with olive oil and seasonings and spread on a baking sheet, lightly greased or covered with parchment paper.
  • Roast for about 40 minutes, tossing halfway through.
  • I like mine extra crispy, so I turned off the oven at 40 minutes, but left the edamame in the warm oven for an additional 20 minutes to continue to dry out.

IMG_2421IMG_2419IMG_2430

The perfect high-protein snack to keep you on track and energized this week.

Take care of yourself this week! Thanks for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

