Easy Weeknight Dinners and a Killer Cardio Workout

25 Jun

Hello!

Is it Friday yet?? This week has been a doozy and we’re only 2 days in, oye. 

Hence the frozen pizza we had for dinner last night and the eggs we had tonight.

Here’s how a dietitian does frozen pizza:

IMG_2597

First, I look for the lowest sodium per serving I can find. Then, I check out the calories (I like to stay around 300 or less). This one is Amy’s Margherita Pizza. 1/3 of the pizza comes in at 280 calories and 550 grams of sodium. Not perfect, but for a frozen pizza those stats are pretty good! Before I pop it in the oven, I load it up with extra veggies to improve the nutritional quality and give it a little more… er… “meat” so to speak. Also, I always pair my frozen pie with a heaping salad. Dinner was ready in less than 30 min!

Tonight was another late one, so we did eggs in whole wheat tortillas. People don’t usually think of eggs for dinner, but it is one of the easy weeknight staples at our house!

photo (5)

We sautéed onions, diced sweet potatoes, jalapeño, tomatoes, and greens in a pan before adding eggs. I had one tortilla full plus more on the side.

Backing up a bit… 

Pre-dinner, I got a workout in before leaving the gym. I was in the mood for something tough to shake off some stress, so I decided to attempt this baby…

3 Rounds:

1000 meter row

50 burpees

50 box jumps

400 meter run

This is not a Running on Sunshine original, but I can’t remember where I got it. I tend to write workouts on random scraps of paper and find them stuffed in my gym bag, wallet, car, pockets, and (JWD’s favorite) strewn all over the house. I found this one in my gym bag and knocked it out.

photo-6

Now I look like this. I think it’s time for bed….

Thanks for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

