Friday Favorites

19 Jul

Happy Friday! Thought I’d pop in and share a few things that I’ve been groovin’ on this week…

1. Running skirts!

imgres-3

These have become a summer staple. Since I’m in workout clothes for both work and play, it’s fun to mix things up with something girly 🙂 Running skirts- love ’em or hate ’em?

2. Cereal

IMG_2716 IMG_2715

IMG_2698 IMG_2692

Ice cold breakfasts are a necessity on smokin’ hot STL summer mornings. Even before 7am the air was thick and sticky this week. I enjoyed my cereal in many ways- with milk and yogurt, parfait style, and on top of a thick smoothie (the last one is my fave!). I don’t have a go-to cereal, but I try to stick with these rules:  

  1. At least 4g fiber
  2. At least 3g protein
  3. Less than 8g of sugar (I’m willing to flex on this one if #1 and #2 are stellar)

This week I went with Kashi GoLean Cinnamon Crumble because it was on sale. Great in the fiber and protein department, but 12g of sugar will keep it off of my “staples” list.

3. This salad

1006293_633522460000125_1189332070_n

I ate this salad at Companion this week and it was INCREDIBLE! A HUGE bowl of spinach topped with tomatoes, edamame, sunflower seeds, avocado, and feta with lemon vinaigrette and a hunk ‘a crusty bread on the side. Definitely recreating this at home!

4. Circuit training

The heat makes me feel like a slug and completely “melts” my motivation 😉 So most of my workouts have been indoor circuit-style workouts that give me  a good sweat and sore muscles. Look forward to more gym and at-home circuit workouts!

5. Cha-cha-cha-chia!

74602_634046086614429_291955925_nIMG_2567

We were out of flaxseed this week, so I pulled the chia seeds out of the depths of the freezer for my omega-3 fix. Just like flax, you can put them in smoothies, on cereal, and salads. My seeds made their way into my green juice and smoothies.

Have an excellent weekend! Thanks for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

